I double-dog-dared me

Last year I had fun making a pair of coordinating-but-not-matching baby quilts for some frolleagues (that would be colleagues who are also friends…) Their baby boys were due mere days apart- though one decided to be as late as he could be and so they’re slightly further than that- but still within the same month.

I finished the quilts, and got photos, and gifted them and everything, but never blogged them. So without TOO much further ado, here are my final finishes for 2015.

Baby Boy #1:

(pardon the lousy cell phone photos snapped early in the morning before giving it away…)

IMG_0604IMG_0594IMG_0597

Both quilts were focused on the doggy batik fabric- and also the remaining pieces of the rainbow batik roll that I used for my favorite quilt of last year. Both quilts were made up of pieced HSTs that came from this tutorial by Amy at Stitchery Dickery Dock. Quilt #1 got a backing made from some very very vintage Anna Maria Horner and remaining batik.

Quilt #2:

IMG_0872IMG_0874

Same squares, same border, same binding, same quilting, different layout: totally different feeling.

This one got different backing, too.

IMG_0875IMG_0876

I love it! Rainbow dog treats. So happy- and so likely to hide any stains a baby boy might make…

My heart totally melted a few weeks back when I saw Mr. Quilt #2 in his 3 month photo on FB- on the quilt… Hooray!

Linking up with TGIFF and Finish it Up Friday.

19 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Finish It Up Friday, Gift, Quilts

19 responses to “I double-dog-dared me

  1. Oh, these are fun! (And I surprised because I knew I had already seen these, then realized, wow, I love IG.) I really love the coordinating quilts here. I’ve done that once before, and it was so much fun!

  2. Both are so fresh and pretty, pretty perfect!

    • Thank you! Rainbow or some version thereof is one of my favorite combos for baby quilts- they always come out so cheerfully! -Samantha

      On Fri, Feb 19, 2016 at 7:22 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. Shannon

    Quilts make the perfect gift! Yours are fun and colorful!

  4. That doggie batik is so great for pulling it all together (inspiring it all). And the dog bone backing is such fun. Two lovely quilts!

    • I think part of why I like making baby quilts so very much, aside from the size, is that I can play with novelty fabrics. I don’t think I’ll ever get past my love of a fun novelty print… -Sam

      On Fri, Feb 19, 2016 at 4:58 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. Kat

    These are both super cute! I love those batik doggies.

    • Thank you! I have had the doggie batik in my stash for so long I don’t even remember when I got it. It clearly was just waiting for the perfect project… -Sam

      On Fri, Feb 19, 2016 at 9:50 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. Wonderful quilts. I love how a simple (and a more sophisticated) half square triangle can be so attractive.

  7. Great finishes! How wonderful for you to see a photo of the baby on the quit! Awesome!

  8. Lisa

    Thanks for linking up these two great little baby quilts to TGIFF. Isn’t it interesting how different the two look with the same fabrics and both made with 1/2 square triangles.

  9. They are both awesome and the dog fabric is so much fun!

    • Thank you, Ruth! I have had that batik in my stash for more years than I can remember, so I am really glad to finally put it to (good) use! -Sam

      On Sun, Feb 21, 2016 at 5:44 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  10. Both of the quilts are very fun, great finishes and wonderful gifts to new babies.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

