Sweet, Sweet Sugar

I am so happy to finally be able to share this finished quilt.

IMG_3942

In 2013, I joined Stitchery Dickery Dock‘s Sugar Block Club BOM. I made 2 complete sets of blocks– one for me (in purples and blues) and one for my mom, in much more earthy tones. I gave my mom a set of blocks, not even a top, for Xmas 2013, and the promise of a finished quilt to follow soon after. So that didn’t quite work out. I did manage to finish the top in early 2014 (in fact, almost a year ago to the day!), but I had no idea how to quilt it. I picked it up and put it down. Many times. And felt so guilty that my mom wasn’t getting her gift. Sigh.

Finally, just a few weeks before Xmas 2014, I decided to send it out to be quilted, cost be damned. But I hadn’t sent one out in forever, and I wanted something special and custom. As luck would have it, the mom of a student at the school where I work is an amazing quilter who is just getting her business (Snowflake Quilting) off the ground. And she had time to finish the quilt before Xmas, or at the very least before my mom’s 12/30 birthday. I sent her photos of the quilt, and when we met in person, she had an AMAZING design already sketched out. Each block had its own motif, and then, she created an overall design to tie them all together. The trickiest part for me was choosing the thread color.

In less than a week, Snowflake Quilting had returned my quilt to me, quilted to perfection. The best part? She delivered it to my office when dropping her son off at school, so I got to bask in oohs and aahs from my colleagues. I easily got it bound and washed and wrapped and under the tree by Xmas Eve!

I think my mom likes it!

IMG_3791 IMG_3794

And you know how I was torturing myself with guilt all year, because this took me so long? Well, as mom opened it, she was truly confused and shocked. “What is this?” She had forgotten about it! I hope that doesn’t mean I have failed her so many times that she never expects me to follow through with things?

I chose the colors to compliment her basement, which is finished and lovely, and has her comfy couch and big TV. But she likes it so much, she wants to use it upstairs, where she spends more time, even if it doesn’t coordinate as well. I’m glad she’s so happy!

Here’s a closeup of the quilting on each block:

mosaic41a3c0358d73eccae818d2b8ca74e6a3fc7b3969-2

Amazing, right? I’m so glad I sent it out. I would never have been able to pull off anything half so great myself.

It was finally nice and sunny last weekend, so we took the quilt out for a walk, right behind my mom’s house. Her garden opens directly out into some open space… convenient for nice photos!

IMG_3931 IMG_3934 IMG_3918

Oh, the back and binding is a fabulous Kaffe that I was able to score on clearance! And… have I mentioned that my 13 year old daughter is now 1/2″ taller than me? That’s her holding up this large throw for me. Yikes.

I don’t think I’ve felt this good about a finish in years and years. Next up- finishing my OWN Sugar Block Club top!

Linking up with TGIFF and Finish It Up Friday.

 

18 Comments

Filed under Finish It Up Friday, Quilts, Sugar Block Club BOM

18 responses to “Sweet, Sweet Sugar

  1. Ooh, the quilting is gorgeous! Hooray on getting this one finished! Now that you’ve seen this one quilted, do you think you’ll send out yours when you finish the top?

    • I think i’ll be sad if i don’t send mine out for the same deluxe treatment! But i’m seriously considering making 12 more blocks to make it bed sized, so that could be awhile…

      -Sam

      On Fri, Jan 23, 2015 at 7:47 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. What a beautiful finish! Sometimes the best solution is to get a little help from some friends. I love how happy your mom looks in the photos. 🙂

  3. ellen

    Yay, for a finished quilt! If they’re bigger than lap size I have to send them off. I’m glad your mom loves it. Quilts are never late… right?

    • Yeah, me too. Lap size is pretty much my limit. I haven’t made a big one in quite a while- but i have a king sized top ready to send out, and I want to send my tula quilt off to her as well… -Sam

      On Fri, Jan 23, 2015 at 8:50 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. Love it! It’s so pretty and your mom looks so happy. Win, win!

  5. It’s lovely Sam. Quilts make the best gifts.

  6. The quilting sets it off beautifully. You can see how thrilled your mum is with it!

  7. Cher

    happy dancing here for you and your mom! it turned out gorgeous! and how sweet that she wants to enjoy it where she spends most of her time.
    way to go Sam! looking forward to what you decide with your version now.

    • I’m thinking I will make another full set of 12 blocks for mine, to make a bigger finished product… stay tuned!

      -Sam

      On Sat, Jan 24, 2015 at 9:10 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  8. Sue

    That quilt turned out really well. Your mom looks absolutely thrilled with it!

  9. Pingback: My Kingdom for Another Yard | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!