My Kingdom for Another Yard

So, back in 2013, I made 2 sets of Sugar Block Club blocks- one for me and one for my mom. You’ve seen how my mom’s ended up. But what about mine? Here’s where we left off in Jan 2014.

IMG_4292

Left to right, top to bottom, that is January to December. And please please join me in pretending that you can’t see how much smaller that final block turned out. Ugh. It was paper-pieced, and I checked the printer twice, so, no idea how that happened.

I love these together, and am not thrilled with a few of them individually. I wasn’t sure how to set them, so like my mom’s, they sat around for a year. And then I decided to make another set, and make the top bed sized. We don’t need another purple throw sized quilt around this joint, and I want to keep it.

So this past week, I pulled out the patterns, and the secret stash of fabric I had leftover from the original blocks, and got to work. This time, I tried to make more darker/higher contrast blocks.

IMG_4294

This is what I got done this week- half a year’s worth. But then I had to stop.

IMG_4302

Why? Because this is all the background fabric I have left. I grossly underestimated the leftover pile. I had enough of all the prints to make it through another 12 blocks, but apparently only enough shiny lavender background fabric to make it through 6. The worst part is that I don’t know when I bought this fabric (aside from “over 3 years ago”), I don’t know where I got it, and I don’t know the manufacturer because the selvedge is plain. So when I say I am out of background fabric, I am totally out of background fabric.

Here are all 18 together.

IMG_4304

So now I have the added challenge of deciding how on earth to set 18 blocks. I have varying amounts of all the other fabrics left. And you can sort of see the striped Kaffe Fasset woven below the quilt- I had it pulled aside to do something with this quilt, but what? I’m truly hoping it won’t take me another year to decide…

MEANWHILE… I have a new idea for background fabric for my Tula blocks. After spending the last week looking at layout options, I realized I am really attached to the simple king sized grid layout from the book. With that in mind, I went back to the drawing board, and came up with 2 fabrics from Carolyn Friedlander’s Architextures line. What do you think of either of these?

images-2 images

To refresh your memory, here are the blocks…

IMG_4251

I feel like the darker version could really make the blocks pop, without being TOO dark… And the idea to a slightly textured solid is very appealing to me. What do you think?

And if anyone happens to recognize that solid lavender shot through with silver sparkles, speak up!

9 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Sugar Block Club BOM, Tula Pink QAL

9 responses to “My Kingdom for Another Yard

  1. Cher

    no help with the lavender fabric, however, I agree the darker fabric would work well with what you have in mind.

  2. Good luck finding more of the lavender fabric! I really like the crosshatch prints, and I think the dark would look great.

  3. ellen

    I like the darker fabric too. I think lighter would pull toward pastel, but the darker one will pull the deep purple. I like the texture too.

    • The texture is just wonderful. I think this will give me the dramatic effect I want, without being over the top…

      -Sam

      On Fri, Feb 6, 2015 at 11:22 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. I just finished my 2013 Sugar Block Club quilt as well. I hope you find that background fabric or that your creativity comes through for the layout.

  5. Pingback: Scraptastic | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

