Tula Tuesday, Finally… and Almost Finally.

Annnnd… I’m back! Back to the blog. Back to my Tula blocks. Hooray! Over the last few weekends, I made 11 blocks. Blocks 85-96, the final section of the book. (I also binge watched the first 2 seasons of Black Mirror– wow! Love it!)

blocks 85-96

I put them all into a mosaic (in numerical order) to keep this from being the most photo heavy post ever. I thought about splitting them into 2 weeks of posts, but what the hell… here they all are.

Some quick highlights- the deer head fabric in #85 is a new fave- just purchased and already beloved. The bunny peeking out of #86 makes me smile. The constellations in #87 are hard not to hoard. #88 and the fox are one of my faves in the entire quilt. #89 uses that Acacia print I love so much, and own in 3 colors. #90 sneaks in some Parisville (Hi, Audrey and Jane!) #91- more Parisville, and polka dots to boot. Cotton+Steel and some neon polka dots make #92 happy. More fabulous Moonshine in #93. The AMH focus fabric and purples again in #94, and #95 is purple again, with a Birds and Bees print.

Phew.

All 96 blocks are squeezed onto my design wall. They barely fit, and 97-100 won’t. Or they will, but I’ll have to move everything over a few inches and {squish} it all.

IMG_4034

That one block over to the left is a reject, the only one. I may put it into the back. It may end up in some orphan pile. Who knows…

The last 4 blocks are going to be bittersweet. This has been such a fun journey. But it’s too soon to get all maudlin- I’ll save that for next week. Instead, I have to stress out over my final 4 sets of fabric choices. Four final chances to balance out my colors. Four last favorites to feature. Only 4? How do I pick? It’s kind of like picking between my kids, but there’s only two of them. I think I need one more pink block, and maybe another green? And a grey (without the pink neon dot in it)? I don’t need any more purple, but I don’t have a ton with dark purple in them. I think there’s enough blue? Suggestions welcome!

Yikes!

Look for me this Sunday, sitting in a pile of fabric on the floor of the sewing room, mumbling to myself and freaking out. And if I can get through that, maybe I’ll be back next week with 100 blocks.

Meanwhile, I’m linking up with Fabric TuesdaySew Cute Tuesday, WIP Wednesday, and Let’s Bee Social.

35 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL, WIP Wednesday

35 responses to “Tula Tuesday, Finally… and Almost Finally.

  1. Looks great Sam! I’m so excited for you to be almost finished.

    I think you could do almost whatever you want with the final blocks and worry about balance when you do the final design layout.

  2. ellen

    I’m so jealous! They’re amazing. Really. I’m excited to see them all in person and I’ll bring my sad little stack along to show as well.

  3. You are so close! I’m glad you have really been enjoying these. As for color suggestions, I am a sucker for color gradients and rainbows… how about combining multiple colors in one block (if the pattern works for it…). It might not work, but it could be a cool way to blend the colors together.

    • I have a few that are multicolored, but not as many as I thought. I realized that when I put them up on the design wall… But I might do that for the final 4.

      On Wednesday, January 21, 2015, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. Wow! I think its amazing that you stuck with it! It will be gorgeous in the end and well worth it!

    • It really helped that I set a deadline beforehand- life got in the way but it kept me motivated to keep going. And I have 3 local friends who are also making all the blocks, so we cheered one another on. 🙂 -Sam

      On Wednesday, January 21, 2015, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. I think you did really well balancing the colors. Good luck with your last four blocks!

    • Thank you! Overall I’m happy with my color balance, but I am nothing if not very very skilled at overthinking and critiquing my own work… -Sam

      On Wednesday, January 21, 2015, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. So nice to see you are nearing the end. It’s looking great 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m very happy to be nearing the end- not because I haven’t enjoyed the process but because I can’t wait to sleep under it! -Sam

      On Wednesday, January 21, 2015, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Oh wow! I soooo love your color scheme here. Amazing 🙂

  8. I think I need to make four more too…maybe five? Oh, I really should try to do them this weekend. I have no time to set them, but it would really be nice to have them done.

    What are your thoughts on Elizabeth?

  9. congrats on getting so many blocks done!

  10. Your blocks look fabulous! I have the book, but that’s as far as I’ve gotten – maybe this year I’ll make this quilt.

  11. Looking at all of them I think it needs some more of that bright deep pink in it. Maybe even even the really dark people for a bit more contrast?

    Nearly there, so exciting!!

    • The pink and deep purple were calling to me, too. Then comes the agonizing decision of what color to use as a background for it all. Yikes!

      -Sam

      On Thu, Jan 22, 2015 at 7:14 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  12. This is wonderful! Love the plum colour running throughout : ) I am only on about #40ish or something…..
    Welcome back!

  13. These are so fun and I’ve really enjoyed seeing the blocks as you’ve finished them. Thanks for sharing the journey with us!

    • Ack! I thought I had replied to this comment already- so sorry! But I wanted to say thanks for coming along on the journey 🙂 -Sam

      On Thu, Jan 22, 2015 at 1:57 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  14. Oh they look so fabulous together…

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

