Tula Tuesday: They’re ALL Done!

Yup, you read that right. All 100 blocks from Tula Pink’s City Sampler- DONE!

IMG_4251

(I know, that looks odd- but my design wall was too short for 10×10, so it’s currently 11×9 + 1…)

blocks 97-100

That right there is the final four. FINAL. I’m still kind of reeling… they’re all done.

All done.

So now comes the hard part- deciding on a setting, and a background fabric. I’m kind of leaning toward the simple but chic Gridlock layout in the book- it finishes at king size, which makes me happy. And I’m leaning toward a nice deep but bright purple shot cotton for the sashing:

sc06thunder

It’s a Kaffe Fasset shot cotton- Thunder. But will that be too much purple? Because a soft grey might also work? Or a teal-y blue green? Or… please, tell me what you’d do. Please? I do really like the idea of a shot cotton- I love the dimensionality they provide. I have enough of the AMH dowry focus fabric that I could use it as binding, which I think will bring it all together.

To refresh your memories, here’s a closer look at all 100 blocks.

tula blocks 1 thru 25 city sampler blocks 26-50 blocks 51-75 blocks 76-100

Wow that’s a lot of blocks…

Thank you all for joining me on this journey- for the feedback, the encouragement, and the kind words along the way. I can’t wait to show you what comes next! Once I decide what that will be…

Linking up with… Sew Cute Tuesday, Fabric TuesdayWIP Wednesday, and Let’s Bee Social.

 

34 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL, WIP Wednesday

34 responses to “Tula Tuesday: They’re ALL Done!

  1. With how much you love purple, why *wouldn’t* you use Thunder?!?!? Congratulations! 🙂

  2. An alternate thought. Frame the purple in teal and the teal blocks in purple and alternate them. Frame the lime ones in whichever you need to make the number come out right. (never one to come up with easy ideas. Arm chair designing is fun because I don’t have to do the work.)

    • I like your armchair design ideas… but I admit part of my wants to choose a simple layout to just be done. Thin borders on all blocks would give me more flexibility…

      hmmm

      -Sam

      >

  3. Aileen

    Gorgeous! Amazing! A true heirloom! I loooove the purple shot cotton, and I don’t think there would be too much purple, but I think the purples in the blocks would bleed into the smashing. If you’re happy with that effect, go for it!

  4. Great stuff! No help on the sashing I’m afraid – I’d be dithering about this for ages!

    • I think it’s very likely I will be dithering about this choice for ages myself… After nearly a year on the blocks, I both want to be done, and also want to make sure i LOVE the finished product.

      -Sam

      >

  5. this beautiful love the color combos

  6. Heather

    Absolutely lovely! What an undertaking! http://heathermantz.blogspot.com

  7. Congrats on finishing all your blocks!

  8. Susan Grisinger

    Congratulations on finishing! Maybe someday I will get mine done 😉

    I love the shot cotton for this. But I don’t know about using it as traditional sashing. It might blend too much and make the pop colors especially the lime and pink stand out more. What about doing something similar to this: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/80/19/09/801909903f10b8c712bb0f32a92cf46b.jpg

    • I LOVE that layout. I think I need to step way back from this project, let it percolate in my brain, and work on something else for a while… Then come back and look at it with fresh eyes.

      -Sam

      >

  9. I adore purple so I really want to vote purple sashing but I wonder if you’d lose all the detail of the individual blocks…..mhhh tricky tricky! Maybe something like what knitnkwilt suggested above

    • I know, I’m really worried about that, too. I have loads of a black mood solid hanging around, but I’m afraid black would be way too harsh…

      Time to sit back and really think…

      -Sam

      >

  10. I love the purple shot cotton. But I’m not sure it’s right for your quilt–unless maybe you’d use a different color around the blocks with the purple on the edges? I’m also a big fan of grays for setting off blocks–maybe a pale silvery gray shot cotton, if there is such a thing?? Oh, aren’t we all helpful with all of our ideas? I always have more definite ideas for other people’s quilts when I can never make up my mind about my own.

    • I know, I love it, but I’m really worried it’s too much purple and the blocks w purple will be lost. Silvery grey is on my short list.

      You guys ARE helpful- hearing so many folks voice my fear about the purple makes me think it’s a bad idea…

      -Sam

      >

  11. Tiruba Tuba

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I’m so happy for you!! Such a momentous event to be finished with all 100! I never could decide on sashing so I didn’t use any but mine were rainbow so I could get away with it. I like Susan’s idea. Very different.

    –Torina from Tubaville

    • I think mine need sashing to help them balance, and not fight. I like Susan’s idea quite a bit, too.

      I think I need to take some time to just sit with the blocks, and not rush just to get it finished…

      Thanks for coming by!

      -S

  12. Purple! I say go with Thunder. Because 1) the name of the color is awesome, and 2) with the huge awesomeness of this project, I figure you need a bold sashing! 🙂 YAY! You’re done!

  13. Oh my! These blocks are gorgeous! They work so well together! The shot cotton is a great idea. There is a woman in my guild who sashed her Tula Blocks with shot cotton and commented that there was a lot of movement in the long seams. Just a caution. I would go gray to let the purple in the blocks shine. I have finished my 100 blocks but am a little afraid to pull them all out. I think it may be a complete mash-up of crazy colors.

    • Thank you for the caution- I have found that if I bust out stray starch with shot cottons, it’s a lifesaver. Or at least a seam saver 😉

      I am afraid of the next step… I think I DO have a crazy mashup of colors, hence my stress over the sashing. If I could find the exact right grey, I think my mind might be made up. IF!

      -Sam

      >

  14. Woo!! That shot cotton would be amazing as sashing! With the comment about the movement on long seams, what about adding corner stones in another complimenting colour which might help balance the colours a bit?

    I have some Thunder; to me it looks like it has a dark blue flecked through it so in some light it’s not screaming HEY I’M PURPLE (it’s actually one of my favourites that I have because it has the two colours through it. The others colours I have just seem to be thin solids as they are one colour so I was a bit disappointed when I received them).

    • I love the cornerstone idea…one to consider! I will def use spray starch if I go with a shot cotton for background… I have found that to be very helpful with such a loose weave.

      I was hoping thunder leaned blue- there’s another SC that is shot w red, and it would be totally wrong. I think I need to buy some and lay various blocks out on it as a test. I have found that some shot cottons show their colors more than others, and the light you’re in can make a huge difference.

      -Sam

      >

  15. Awesome, I just bought the book last weekend. Love your color choices

  16. Oh, wow, congrats! I remember how thrilling it was to have my last Dear Jane blocks finished! LOVE that background color – it’s so deep and rich. It’ll go so nicely with the fabulous color blending you already have in the blocks.

  17. So great! Congrats on finishing your blocks. They are so vibrant and wonderful!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

