Friday Finish: October Harmony blocks

Yikes- even though I had an entire month to create these 2 relatively simple blocks for the Harmony Circle of do.Good Stitches, I didn’t manage to get them done and mailed out until the first week of November. I have zero excuses, especially because, as you can see from the photos below, the colors were totally up my alley!

20131108-080839.jpg

This month’s block was created from a tutorial over at Clover & Violet. It’s a simple block with a nice impact.

20131108-080855.jpg

Make 2 pinwheels, cut 7 other squares, sew together and chop apart and sew back together, and you get… this.

20131108-080914.jpg

And this.

20131108-080928.jpg

I used the same colored fabrics in each block but switched up the black and white print.

20131108-080941.jpg

I’m sad I was late, but at least it was only a few days…

Meanwhile, in the group pool, photos of finished quilts including my blocks have been posted! Since I only joined the Circle a few months ago, this is super exciting to me. See the finished Octagonal Orb quilt (July) here– (not my Flickr photo and it’s not set up for sharing) and my block here.

Here’s August’s Wonky Churn Dash (August) Harmony. do. Good. Stitches. Finished Quilt

…and my blocks here… I hope those quilts go out into the world and spread happiness!

Linking up with Finish It Up Friday and TGIFF.

4 Comments

Filed under do.Good Stitches, Finish It Up Friday, Quilts

4 responses to “Friday Finish: October Harmony blocks

  1. I love the green and purple on the blocks above! (one of my fave color combos). Also love the modern twist on your churn dash quilt- that they’re wonky, and that they’re primary colors…but not…if you know what I mean! I first heard of do.good stitches through Stitched in Colorl0 good for you for taking on a great cuase!

    • Purple and green is one of my favorite combos too- and even more so when you throw in blues. The color scheme was picked for me, even if no one knew it 😉

      I’m enjoying the do. Good Stitches project!

      Thank you for coming by- and please forgive my crazily delayed response.

      -Samantha

  2. oh, what a fun block!! I want to do one, probably the black and white mixed with brights made me want to. And the movement in it.
    Thanks!
    LeeAnna Paylor at lapaylor.blogspot.com and leeannaquilts@gmail.com

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!