More Harmony

Our summer schedule is so nutty (travel! camps! late sunlight that makes you want to play outside!) that I have lost nearly all of my sewing time. When I found a few unexpected moments on Monday, I realized that I had better get my July Harmony Circle block done NOW, just in case.

This month only called for one block, as the pattern chosen was both larger and more elaborate than normal. What pattern, you might be asking… It turned out to be one I pinned ages ago because I thought it was so lovely- but that I had never gotten around to attempting. It’s the Octagonal Orb by oh fransson for the Modern Quilt Guild. It’s a gorgeous block, and while there’s a lot of cutting up front, the piecing itself isn’t too challenging.

The colors called for were: outer ring reds, middle black and white, inner grays, on a black background. I spent a ton of time digging through my scraps, as I went through quite a long B&W print phase a few years back…

IMG_2721

It’s probably not surprising to anyone that a lot of those B&Ws were novelties… The block calls for 24 2.5″ squares, and I managed not to use any print more than once! I DID double up on the other colors, as my stash just wasn’t varied enough in those colors to pull off 24 different reds or grays.

Selecting and cutting fabrics probably took me as long as piecing the entire block!

IMG_2724

First, you make pyramids.

IMG_2727

Then, you cut them down w/ the help of a template. My stash of template plastic decided to hide, so I very very carefully cut from a paper pattern.

IMG_2737

All the triangles go together, then you add the background.

And when you’re done, you get this:

IMG_2743

I’m really happy with how it turned out! And, relieved to have my block done so early in the month to boot. If I find any extra sewing time this month, I’ll be free to work on whatever I want! Whee! (Not that this wasn’t fun, or that I don’t enjoy my new circle, but I do feel obligated to get the official blocks done before anything else, ya know? Commitments made to others seem more serious than those made to myself…)

(Linking up at Finish it up Friday and TGIFF)

15 Comments

Filed under do.Good Stitches, Finish It Up Friday, Pinned it AND made it!, Quilts

15 responses to “More Harmony

  1. Ava

    Ooh I love that colour combo.

  2. Great block! It is nice to get sewing obligations out of the way. Have fun with the rest of your sewing time!

  3. Holy amazingness! That block is incredible! Love!

  4. ellen

    Oh, I like! I can see that pattern being done with some modern fabrics too.

  5. That is a lovely block! I like the colours you chose — very sharp. Thanks for linking up to TGIFF!

  6. It is so pretty! I really like the color combination. I love those blocks and I have always wondered how they were put together!

  7. That is a very cool block!

  8. Pingback: Friday Finish: October Harmony blocks | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

