Tula Tuesday: blocks 81-83

Thank goodness I finished these…

IMG_1965

…before I did THIS:

IMG_1958

Ooops. Sunday morning I slipped in our kitchen and (mildly) sprained my ankle. For real. I know. It’s ridiculous. I’m ridiculous. It’s not too bad, and should heal fairly quickly.

As opposed to our poor house. All of your good thoughts, prayers, and happy vibes worked. The insurance inspector came out on Friday as planned, and DID declare our roof a total loss. So rather than dealing with spot repairs at our own expense, we will be getting an entire new roof for barely more $$, one that will be under a nice fresh warranty. We also need at least 6 windows completely replaced, a few more screens, all the gutters, a lot of the house repainted, and all new patio furniture. Oh, and my 2 garden gnomes also have hail holes! The inspector even put them on the claim. We’re now waiting to hear back from the insurance company about how much they’ll authorize for all that work. The hardest part is going to be finding a roofer to do the work- they are ALL backed up. We know at least our 4 closest neighbors need new roofs as well. Maybe we can get a group rate…

Meanwhile, the blocks.

Block 81: raccoons in tiny pieces.

IMG_1980 IMG_1968

I love it.

Block 82: deep blue with some fox field horses.

IMG_1978 IMG_1969

I love how I accidentally made that one horse look like it has the longest body ever…

Block 83: parisville and polkadots.

IMG_1975 IMG_1972

Looks like I was on a serious purple kick this week. (Shocker.)

tula blocks 1 thru 25 city sampler blocks 26-50 blocks 51-75 blocks 75-83

Ta-da! Are you working on any Tula? Share it here:

 

I’ll be linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday, Let’s Bee Social, and WIP Wednesday. And stay tuned- I was tagged by Lucymade to take part in the Around the World Blog Hop. I’m running behind- the post was part of my Sunday plan- but I’ll get to it ASAP, I promise!

21 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL, WIP Wednesday

21 responses to “Tula Tuesday: blocks 81-83

  1. Yay for a new roof! Hopefully it will be a start of things going right for you from now on!!

  2. I love your tula blocks…..I really need to get back to mine. I have done 12 I think and you tempt me to go back and give some more a go. 🙂

  3. Hooray, you’re getting a new roof! Here’s hoping that the next few weeks are calm and full of nice weather so you and your house can get fixed up without any more calamities.

    • AND so that I can do my around the world blog hop post! I have the next 2 days off from work (Jewish holiday) so I plan to sew and blog… -Sam

      On Tue, Oct 7, 2014 at 9:54 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. I love your block #81. I’m a sucker for that adorable racoon fabric. And purple. Excellent block!

  5. Can we blame the rain on your kitchen floor for you slipping? So glad you are getting a new roof, and the blocks are fabulous as always. Watching your quilt progress makes me think I need to hunt up the book next time I’m near a bookstore.

    • I tried valiantly to find a way to blame the fall on the chaos, but I think I’m just a klutz. My foot just slipped out from under me- hardwood floors- and I went down hard and fast 😦

      It’s a great book- I totally recommend it!

      -Sam

      On Tue, Oct 7, 2014 at 6:46 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. So sorry to hear about your ankle – I hope it heals quickly. Good news about the roof; I hope you can find someone to fix it for your promptly. And I am digging all the purple, too; the blocks look great!

  7. Love that first block, 81. So cute! I hope you heal quickly. Good luck finding a roofer.

  8. Your blocks are looking great. Hope you get your roof and foot sorted soon!

  9. I particularly love the raccoon block. It’s one of my all time favorite Tula prints.

    Yay! Yay! Yay! So many yays about the insurance and your house finally being fixed! I’m so relieved for you.

    But oh dear Sam! You are having a bummer of a year, aren’t you? I hope the ankle heals up quickly.

  10. oh no, sorry to hear about your accident! I hope it all heals up soon. the Tula blocks are looking good, I stalled at 2 blocks!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!