WIP Wednesday: The Skull is Surrounded (mostly)

The Skull Quilt is growing!

Last week, it looked like this:

IMG_0054

Now, it looks like THIS:

IMG_5948

I got 3 of the 4 surrounding rows done. That would have been ALL of the surrounding rows, except that I ran out of the solid greens, and had to go shopping. And by the time I got home, I was out of time to sew 😦

I am SO happy with how this is turning out! I love this quilt already, even before that final row. Hopefully, I can finish the top this week, and baste it over the weekend. Except for the minor problem that I have NO idea what to use for backing. My budget doesn’t really support more shopping, so, time to get creative.

Do you prefer your backs to be all one fabric, or to piece them out of multiple- or to create blocks and design the back completely?

Linking up with WIP Wednesday over at Freshly Pieced.

20 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, General Geekery, Gift, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

20 responses to “WIP Wednesday: The Skull is Surrounded (mostly)

  1. Wish I could hit “like” 5 times! I will say it again, I LOVE LOVE LOVE this quilt.

    For baby quilts, I usually try to have one fabric, but if I have to piece, I’ve been doing a border around my main fabric instead of piecing in blocks. That is just my thing. I usually use flannel for baby quilt backing and often choose it for the print, so cutting it up makes me sad! LOL!

    • When a quilt is small enough, I’ll try to go with one piece of fabric, to conserve time and $$$. This one is going to finish at 60×72, so I have to piece no matter what… Flannel is lovely for a baby quilt back!

  2. I do a mix, depending on what I have and how attached I am to the offcuts. For my Briar Rose star I used the rest of many of the prints on the back because I wasn’t in love with them. I only kept the ones I knew I’d use again.

    • LOL, I find it easier to use fabrics i don’t adore on backs as well. When I’ve made quilts for others in palettes i don’t love, the offcuts tend to all end up in the back or binding!

  3. Part of me is tired when I get the top finished and wants no part of more piecing. BUT I love planned, pieced backs, especially those with blocks that somehow reflect the top. Some people have left over blocks from the front to use–I never seem to. I usually do a strip of “something” that relates.

  4. Mina

    SUPER COOL! I prefer one print on the back, but to be honest I have never tried piecing my backs

  5. Very cool, looks great agaisnt the green!

  6. Don’t you just love Boo Davis’ patterns? I’m working away on her Quilt in the Headlights pattern from the same book as your quilt. In terms of quilt backs, I’ve recently gotten in to pieced backs. It helps me use up fabric from my stash (particularly ones I’ve used in the top and might otherwise “save”) and looks cool. Especially if there’s budgetary constraints!

    • I really do love her patterns- they fall into that realm of simple yet stunning. I’ve also always wanted to make the owl and the robot…

      Using up fabric you might otherwise save? Brave woman! I find it so hard to “use up” anything… I can only put it into the back if I’ll still have a wee bit left.

      Thanks for visiting!

      -Samantha

      On Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 11:00 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. That quilt is the coolest skull quilt I have seen so far!
    With the backing: I prefere it to be of one fabrics just because I’m too silly… But with this one I can totally imagine something scrappy, or in a contrasting colour!

  8. What a fun quilt! I prefer to piece my quilt backs, usually very scrappy. I also like to use flannel (usually two different prints) for back lately. Nice and cozy 🙂

    • Flannel is super cozy! I’ve used minkee a few times, and it is an amazing cuddle back, but it gets pricey fast.

      -Samantha

      On Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 3:32 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  9. Cher

    I like all manner of backs, from one entire piece of fabric to lots of blocks or really large squares…it depends on how much work I put into the front sometimes..a complex top , seems to call for a more plain back to me. stash dive and see what you come up with!

    • I might have caved and found some awesome skull fabric on http://www.fabric.comfor $6/yard… maybe… I have leftover solids from the top, after buying too much on my replacement run, so it will be a pieced back, with some new fabric…

      I’m going to try and push myself to do more interesting backs this year.

      -Sam

      On Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 10:06 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

