WIP Wednesday: The Skull Baby Quilt

I’m kind of on a sewing roll… On Sunday I started a new baby quilt. This baby isn’t even here yet- I might actually finish before s/he arrives! (Maybe.) Mom and dad are punky and funky., and I think they’ll very much appreciate this non-traditional quilt.

(Plus I’ve had Boo DavisDare to Be Square for years, and I’ve been dying to make this quilt…)

IMG_5905

Since we don’t know if it’s a boy or a girl, I went with greens for the background color. I did need to buy the two solids, but the prints and the white are all from stash…

First, there was cutting.

IMG_5908

And then there was sewing. On Sunday, I started the skull, from the top down.

IMG_5912

I had to stop with only half of the skull done- but not before I managed to burn my arm on my iron ๐Ÿ˜ฆ (Note to self- you are short. Don’t try to reach OVER your iron, k?)

But then there was Monday. Monday was for cheekbones and teeth.

IMG_0052

Tuesday was for the jaw.

IMG_0054

And for cutting the strips for the outside blocks.

IMG_0059

It’s always so much fun to pull fabrics from stash. Some of these greens date back 10 years or more. There’s batiks and Kaffes and miscellaneous prints, and they’re all having so much fun together. Now I just need to piece 16 blocks of 6 strips each, and then I can put the entire top together.

I am so excited by this quilt. I haven’t been this excited to sew in ages. I normally only sew on Sundays- i just don’t have the time or energy on weeknights. But this week I spent Monday and Tuesday night in the sewing room, with Netflix streaming! (Also, if you haven’t watchedย Luther, what are you waiting for? I’m super late to the party, like always, but it’s amazing.) Looking forward to finishing this top on Sunday, while the rest of Denver watches some football game. At our house, it will be all Puppy Bowl, all afternoon long…

(Linking up with WiP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced)

16 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Gift, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

16 responses to “WIP Wednesday: The Skull Baby Quilt

  1. Awesome! I have her book and my daughter and I are working on a quilt each. ๐Ÿ™‚ I like it a ton in green, more than the pink!

  2. Cher

    so clever! this does look like so much fun both to make and I am sure the new parents will appreciate something out of the box for their baby. Really, those baby quilts are more for the parents than the babies! glad to see all the love shining in this project Sam!

  3. awesome! i love all those greens. what a fab baby quilt.

    • I think I’m actually glad I don’t know the baby’s gender- the greens are really making me happy. i probably would have gone with green anyway if it was a boy, and purples for a girl…
      -Sam

  4. That is fantastic! I’m just sitting here giggling… Way to respect the recipients and their style. I love it!

  5. It’s great to see a baby quilt that’s a bit different! I was really interested to see your quilt because I’ve got a quilt to make for a little boy that’s going to have a big skull on it. I was planning on doing it in quite a different way but you may have made me rethink!

  6. Love the skull!!! It looks great in the green. Sorry you burnt your arm, that happened to me a while ago and it was very unpleasant.

    • The arm is healing nicely… Thank goodness. The burn is just in a really awkward spot- underside of my arm- so I keep rubbing it against myself. Still, if that’s my worst thing to complain about, I’m doing okay.

  7. I love this book. The colors you’ve chosen are actually more interesting to me than the original. Sorry to hear about your arm. If it’s any consolation I burn myself pretty much every time I get iron out.

    • I might bind it in purple, just for kicks. I am lucky in that I’ve never had a rotary cutter accident (knock on wood), but, I have burned myself many many times. I’d been doing much better for a while, but I guess Ihave to take down my “this worksite has gone XXX days without an accident” sign ๐Ÿ˜‰ -Samantha

      • I think purple would look great! I can’t wait to see what it looks like when you’re finished.

        I don’t understand my rotary cutter. Half the time it won’t cut through fabric but the slightest bump and it’ll slice through skin.

  8. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: The Skull is Surrounded (mostly) | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

