The Inaugural Tula Tuesday- blocks #1 and #2

I recently mentioned to you that some girlfriends and I are doing our own QAL of Tula Pink’s City Sampler. I’ve decided to devote Tuesdays here on the blog to chronicling the progress of this project…

I’m going in order from #1-#100, hoping to do 10 blocks a month from February through November. This weekend, I got the first two done.

IMG_5928

I can easily see how these could be addictive. They’re so cute and tiny- they finish at 6″ square. (Just look how big the clothespins holding them up look!) They use itty bitty pieces of fabric- which means I may get to pull some teeny tiny treasures out of my scrap bin. I finished the 2 blocks in around an hour. I do realize that they get harder as you go, so maybe February will end up with 15 blocks and November with 5… or some such. The best thing about doing your own QAL is that you get to set the rules!

IMG_5934 IMG_5940 - Version 2

Block #1 features the Anna Maria Horner Dowry print that I fell in love with, along with some Tula, and some Lizzy House pearl Bracelets.

IMG_5936 IMG_5943 - Version 2

Block #2- more of the AMH Dowry, along with some dots and miscellaneous solids. I don’t love the grey right next to the Dowry- I feel like they blend too much. But with 98 blocks ahead of me, I’m not going to sweat it.

Don’t some of those purples look like Radiant Orchid to you? I’m so trendy… But we already knew that, right?

Tune in Tuesdays all year long to see me fill this up…

mosaiceebfbb6465c3b9f7b755d06f61bceea871bbb6a8

9 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL

9 responses to “The Inaugural Tula Tuesday- blocks #1 and #2

  1. Oh my… so pretty! I love little blocks. I’ve been slowly goind through the Farmer’s Wife sampler quilt with my scraps and making these little very intricate 6 inch blocks. Tula Pink has the most amazing fabrics! One of my top fabric houses for sure. Great job!

    What book are you using for the block patterns?

  2. Seriously love your colour palette for these blocks. Totally fabulous.

    • a few weeks back I was in my fave local store, and found a bolt of Anna Maria Horner Dowry fabric that I fell in love with… I’m basing the entire quilt palette around the colors in that one piece of fabric.

  3. Oh, I absolutely love your fabric choices! I got to block 60 and had to take a break for the holidays and other sewing, but I’m hoping to start up again and finish the other 40 soon! Seeing all these finished City Sampler quilts is making me super jealous! 🙂 Good luck with your sampler!

    • I wanted to start mine so much earlier, but we agreed the holidays were too crazy- I totally see why you would have to take a break then! I have loved looking at the finished challenge quilts, too! So inspirational… Looking forward to seeing yours! -Samantha

      On Thu, Feb 6, 2014 at 7:03 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. Nice work! I haven’t worked up the courage to start this project yet but I did buy the book. We all have to start somewhere right? 🙂 If you want to check out what I am currently working on you can find me at http://www.phatbobbingirl.wordpress.com

    • I’ve seen a lot of folks starting this project up recently. It’s a really fun one to take a little bit at a time. Thanks for visiting- hope you’ll come back soon!

      -Samantha

      On Mon, Feb 10, 2014 at 7:09 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

