Tula Tuesday: Blocks 67-70 (finally!)

I sewed.

For real!

IMG_1544

I finished my August Tula blocks, halfway through September. SO glad I finished the triangle section before I got sick! Would have sucked to come back to those!

Brief sam-post-gallbladder-update for those who are interested. If you just want the quilt blocks, skip down 2 paragraphs, no hard feelings. I am finally, a month post-surgery, starting to feel like myself again. My pain level around one incision stayed pretty high for longer than expected, and the verdict was eventually that the sutures were pressing directly on a nerve. No wonder I hurt so much! One of the sutures was forcing its way out of my body- a shockingly common and, to me, truly disgusting, post surgery occurrence- and after the surgical nurse fixed it, my pain level dropped instantly. Meanwhile, I had yet another blood pressure scare, which was, after more tests, determined to be stress based.

Stress, you say? About that. Aside from the lingering pain, there’s the slight matter of the house. There was some major miscommunication with the contractors. They were all set to start repairing the insides of our home that have sustained water damage from the leaking roof. So all set that they sent movers to take apart our home. After promising that the kitchen wouldn’t be touched, they accidentally packed up the entire thing, and moved the fridge, microwave, toaster oven, table, and chairs to the living room. Awesome. The next day they informed us that they weren’t able to test our roof for leaks due to liability reasons, and if they proceeded with the repairs without the test, the repairs wouldn’t be under warranty.  WTF? We had asked them to do that test 8 times, but they didn’t say nope, never, until after they ripped apart our house. Awesomer. There was so much hail in Colorado this summer that roofers are backed up for weeks, and it took hours of calls to find one who could do the test sooner than 2 weeks out. And then? We failed the test. So our house is ripped up, our roof could still leak in heavy rain, and insurance doesn’t cover the roof repair. I can’t imagine why my blood pressure is through the roof, can you??

I did finally squeeze in some sewing during all of this. First, I had to cut hundreds of white 4.5″ squares. Because at Annie’s school, 2 teachers, and one teacher’s wife, are pregnant. Because I need a deadline like I need a hole in my head my roof, I contacted the art teacher and offered to work with her to help the kids make a quilt for each of the 3 babies. 2 are due the first week of November, one in mid-December. The kids are going to dye the squares, and I’ll piece them together. The school is tiny- 60ish kids from 6th-12th grade- and I’m looking forward to helping them with this project.

After the cutting, came the sewing. 2 episodes of OITNB later, I had four blocks, and had finally finished my August goal.

Block 67: I busted out one of my fave ever Heather Ross prints. I found an extra yard of it stashed in the guest room (when we had to move Henry in during the dry-out of his room), so that’s a positive.

IMG_1557 IMG_1536

Purple, grey, and pretty.

Block 68: my fave feature print and some happy green solids.

IMG_1555 IMG_1537

 

Block 69: teeny tiny pieces, and squirrels. I love the squirrels. (Top photo’s color is a better representation.)

IMG_1553 IMG_1540

 

And finally, Block 70: purple! My fave Tula Acacia print. Happiness! (Bottom photo is a better color representation.)

IMG_1551 IMG_1541

 

Next up, the squares section of the book. Squares I can handle 🙂

As always, here’s my work to date:

tula blocks 1 thru 25 city sampler blocks 26-50 blocks 51 thru 70

 

Just in case anyone is still out there, and also made it all the way to the end, and also wants to share their own Tula progress, here’s the linkup:

 

Meanwhile, here’s hoping I’m back to blogging and commenting and reading more regularly. Hope you are all doing better than me and my house!

PS Now that I have some actual work to share, I’m linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday and WIP Wednesday

10 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL

10 responses to “Tula Tuesday: Blocks 67-70 (finally!)

  1. Yay! So pleased to see that you’re doing better and back at the sewing machine.

    I’m sorry about the house. We have ridiculous hail storms in Australia, so I can sympathize with that, having lived through it for most of my life. Even worse when the roof is in a questionable state! What a pain about the insurance, on top of everything else!

    If it’s makes you feel any better, I’ve had sutures work themselves out too, but that’s a story best not shared with all you readers.

    Good luck on those baby quilts! They sound like they’ll look amazing.

    • i am still sooooo grossed out about the suture thing, but also so relieved that the removal seems to have solved the ongoing pain issue…

      I am really looking forward to seeing what the kids do with the squares!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Sep 17, 2014 at 9:15 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

      • I just took it as par for the course when it happened to me, but I understand why you’re grossed out. And it’s great to have the pain issue sorted.

        You will be sharing what the kids make, won’t you? I’m so curious about it.

  2. Sorry things are so difficult right now with the house. I can understand how incredibly stressful that might be.

    The blocks look lovely, it’s going to be an awesome quilt.

  3. Wow, that is a lot of stress. Thank goodness for quilting to keep you sane. (Or maybe not!) Your Tula blocks are great. I checked her book out at the library a few weeks ago, and then brought it back. Maybe someday… The mamas and daddies of those little babies will love having quilts with fabrics dyed by their students!

    • The nice thing about the Tula book is you can do as much or as little as you’d like 🙂 I may have to take a break, though- the hand dyed and decorated squares were sent home from school today! Time to piece 4 baby quilts. Turns out one of the new teachers to the school has a new baby- his wife gave birth over the summer. We didn’t want him to feel left out, so four it will be!

      -Sam

  4. Cher

    amazing you could make such stunning blocks with all that has been going on. I like your plan with the children helping make the upcoming quilts!
    What a over the top stressful experience with your house roof and the contractor not being truthful. I hope in the end, you find a reliable contractor and get your home back in hail proof shape! So sorry to hear about the whole surgery pain thing, and happy you were able to have it resolved once you went back. Living in pain and having your home torn apart would be so stressful, I can imagine it being a huge negative impact on you. big hugs Sam!

    • Thank you, Cher.

      The worst part of this mess is that it’s not hail damage on our roof, but some sort of problem with shingles and flashing. A problem that is not covered by insurance. The internal damage is, thank goodness, but we’re on our own for the roof repairs 😦

      Hope you are doing well!!

      -Sam

  5. Oh man, I hope you can get house stuff worked out. I’m terrified about that kind of thing because I’m not working at the moment and my husband and I starting to struggle with bills now and I think I will curl up in a ball and die if we end up with major repairs. It’s bad enough we’ve been having car trouble…

    That’s a great idea for the kids to dye fabric for the quilt! That will be a really special keepsake!

    • The house issues have been scary for us for financial reasons… You always think how it only takes one thing to topple everything. If we didn’t have health insurance, I don’t even want to imagine what would have happened after this surgery!!!!!

      Hope the car trouble turns out to be something very minor!

      -Sam

      On Fri, Sep 19, 2014 at 12:40 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!