These are the kind of stitches I like…

The only upside to my recent downtime has been…lots of knitting! I finished a pair of socks, knit an entire shawl in under a week, and knit the next shawl in 2 weeks… And I’m halfway through a pair of fingerless mitts for my husband, too.

Today I’m just sharing the second shawl- still no good pix of the first.

I bought the yarn years and years and years ago. (Also known as Jan, 2009.) I had it in my Rav destash section, but then, I saw this blog post from Fancy Tiger, and I had to cast on one of my own ASAP. The original yarn I tried fought with me- first by tangling horribly while I was trying to wind it (took 2 days to untangle) and then by not at all looking like it did in my imagination 😦 So I had to go back to the drawing board/stash- and this 5 year old skein was just the ticket.

petal

Not too overpowering, but still fun. Rabbit Ridge Designs sock yarn in Petal, in case you were wondering.

The pattern, Antarkis, was a bit of a splurge, but after I saw it I just couldn’t stop thinking about it. So I bought it, and got started. Had I not dropped a stitch, and not noticed, at the very end, I would have been done a week ago. But I ended up ripping back and redoing the end of the shawl- and it was worth it. The error would have made me furious had I left it in, and I never would have worn the thing…

So without further ado, ta-da! The new shawl- and ME! Because I felt well enough to be in a photo and let you see me…

IMG_1565 IMG_1571 IMG_1574

If I ever make it again, I’ll go up a needle size (from 5 to 6.)  I’ve been known to knit very tightly… especially when stressed! I had enough yarn left at the end that I repeated the final section one extra time.

I wore it to work today, and got loads of compliments- a nice ego boost AND bonus distraction from the house/healing stress! Now to finish the second mitt for my husband, and then decide what to cast on next.

20 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Shawls

20 responses to “These are the kind of stitches I like…

  1. This yarn is so beautiful. I bet what you make will be gorgeous!

  2. I love that yarn! Gorgeous colors.

    Great shawl! Maybe one day I can stop dropping stitches and finally knit something.

  3. Cher

    oh macintosh yarn! I have made several cowls with it, and love working with it. Your shawl came out fabulous! You are a wonderful knitter, thanks for sharing and so happy you are feeling well enough to go back to work too.

  4. Oooh, I love this shawl! And it looks fabulous on you! 🙂

  5. Thanks alot. My queue just got bigger. Lovely pattern and beautiful color!

  6. The shawl looks fabulous (my queue just got bigger too) and so lovely to see you.

  7. It’s so pretty! Hope you’re healing well 🙂

  8. I love what you made!! Very nice work!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

