Updated Elephant

That cold kicked my butt. I started to feel better. It was my body playing a trick on me, trying to make me think I should be working and sewing and all that.

Not so much. I didn’t finally actually truly feel WELL until after I got two unexpected days off last week- snow days! You might have heard that Denver got a surprise blizzard last week…

(photos from only 24 hours later because snow always melts away very quickly here…) We got between 15-18inches of snow at my house. The school where I work was closed for 2 days, the school my son attends was closed for 2 days, and the school my daughter attends was only closed for one- but we decided that with basically the entire city closed, it would be cruel to make her go to school, so I let her stay home with us.

And I spent the crazy blizzard day sewing away.

IMG_3396

All those triangles and bias edges meant I had to SERIOUSLY square up this baby!

IMG_3408 - Version 2

I changed up my plan for the inner solid border- I was going to use the teeny elephant print but it felt too light. Back to my absolutely favorite purple ever, the Lizzy House tonal pearl bracelet. I need to buy more ASAP… I manage to use it in everything.

I am so happy with this! I was trying to imagine binding- I think I want a black with white polka dot fabric. But I need to buy some…

I even managed to piece the backing. I used leftover strips and squares, and just put them together however they made me smile.

Then, I added some of that pretty pink and white elephant fabric to each end. I also added some grey at the sides, but that should all get cut off after quilting- it’s just the extra for the sides.

IMG_3449

I didn’t get around to basting it yet… hopefully this weekend, and then I’ll quilt it. I have to have it ready to gift by April 6th. I should be able to pull that off- too bad I don’t think we’ll have another blizzard before then.

Linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday, Fabric Tuesday, and Let’s Bee Social.

17 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Gift, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

17 responses to “Updated Elephant

  1. I’m so seriously in love with this elephant you’ve no idea, I’m thrilled to have dropped by today and seen it! Thanks so much for linking up at Sew Cute Tuesday – Chris (guest host) @madebyChrissieD 😀

    • Thank you so much for that wonderful compliment! I am really in love with how the elephant came out- now to hope my quilting doesn’t ruin it!

      Thank you for visiting! -Samantha

      On Mon, Mar 28, 2016 at 8:08 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. The elephant came together so beautifully. I love how his ear is darker / purple for a bit of stand out definition. I’m glad you are feeling better, and that snow storm seemed really crazy!

    • Thank you- I am really happy with this guy! And REALLY happy to finally feel better- that was a long 2 weeks.

      -Sam

      On Mon, Mar 28, 2016 at 9:48 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. Cher

    wow…this elephant is quite fabulous! I really like how you created the eye…total genius! someone is getting a wonderful quilt …glad you had some extra time off and are on the mend! hurray for snow days and staying home

    • Thanks for noticing the eye- in retrospect I wonder if I should have put that square one spot lower. But it works! Now to figure out how to quilt it… -Sam

      On Tue, Mar 29, 2016 at 6:36 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. I love the back as much as the front!

    • Thank you! I meant to use more of the elephant fabric in the back, but I was just having too much fun with those leftover strips and squares. -Sam

      On Tue, Mar 29, 2016 at 10:09 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. Such a lovely elephant

  6. Great snow photos! Your elephant is just gorgeous.

    • Thank you! I am happy to say that most of the snow is already gone… Except our front yard, which really doesn’t get direct sun this time of year… -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 30, 2016 at 12:44 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Emilee

    Love the completed top! Now how are you going to quilt it? Can’t wait to see it finished!

  8. Fantastic elephant! Love it!

  9. Great piecing, I think I would like the black and white binding. Hope you link up the finish.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

