Gifted Greys

Life got away from me, and I never showed you this lovely finished baby quilt. I got it bound and washed just in time for the baby shower, and even managed to snap a few photos before gifting it.

img_2398

There’s that pop of aqua that I used for a binding- I really do love how it finishes the quilt off.

Can you see how I chose to quilt it? I echoed the shape of the star, and since it is off center, I really like the final look. The lines aren’t as straight as I might have liked- this was my first time using my new quilting bar, and I’m still getting the hang of it. I used a purple variegated thread that has been in my stash forever- I don’t think you can really tell, but it made me happy…

img_2400

I quilted the white star in soft grey thread, and I am really happy with the impact of the lines inside the star. You can see it on the back as well…

img_2402

I love this backing- it’s a perfect companion to the front, it works with the binding, I like the play of the stripes with the quilting lines- AND- it was on sale!

The baby shower was truncated (it had been scheduled prior to the Broncos making the playoffs, and was going to overlap with the Patriots game… so it was moved up and ended early as so many people needed to leave to go watch the game. Me, I couldn’t care less…) But! There was still time to open gifts and I can happily say that the quilt was well received. Phew! (And mom-to-be already got a lovely thank-you note to me- so I know it was truly appreciated…)

Linking up with TGIFF and Finish It Up Friday.

5 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Finish It Up Friday, Gift, Pinned it AND made it!, Quilts

5 responses to “Gifted Greys

  1. A beautiful finish! The colours are beautiful and I love how the quilting shows up on the back. Thanks for linking to TGIFF 🙂

  2. I do love that pop of aqua binding, and the quilting is fabulous, especially from the back. 🙂

  3. Cindy

    I am so glad you blog Sam. When I finally settle at the end of day, reading a big or two and seeing beautiful projects, is just what I need. Great quilt!

  4. It’s fabulous and I love the binding. Just posted about our day out on my blog.

  5. It’a lovely! Great colour palette

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

