Not bigger on the inside…yet

For what seems like FOREVER, I’ve been saying I’m going to make a Tardis quilt for my daughter Annie, inspired by this original design by piecedgoods. I love the simple elegance of the design, and the possibilities of so many different tiny pieces of fabric…

I put out a call for some blue scraps, and several of you were so generous!  Annie and I also had an awesome girls’ day out, where we hit several LQSs in our quest for the perfect blues. And our background is going to be purple, not yellow/orange- to look more like a space nebula. In fact, the color palette of the quilt coordinates very well with Annie’s new hair color…IMG_2388

Her hair is ALSO inspired by nebulae- sense a theme?

This quilt is a team project. So I started cutting the approximately 10 billion 2.5″ squares, and when I had enough ready to go, Annie started playing with layouts. (Pardon the lousy cell phone photos to come…)

IMG_2938

I think she’s got a pretty decent eye!

We’ve got a very sophisticated system going, with piles of tiny squares on the ottoman.

IMG_2923

It was working well enough- until we started finding squares scattered throughout the house. Seems George the cat has been dragging them around- oops! Now they’re in a safer place…

I was overwhelmed by the sheer number of seams in my future, so I decided to approach it as a series of 6 patch blocks. And when I had three rows of 6 patch blocks, I sewed 6 patch blocks made from 6 patch blocks. Except the numbers don’t quite work, so the final section is 4×3 patch blocks…

IMG_2926

Once I got a full section sewed together, I started really being able to see where we’re going!

IMG_2928

It’s working! I can see the Tardis starting to emerge from all those squares. Soon, Annie will have to finish the layout… but meanwhile, the 132 squares that are ready to go should keep me busy, right?

Linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday and Let’s Bee Social.

6 Comments

Filed under Annie, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

6 responses to “Not bigger on the inside…yet

  1. I love getting to see it come together. 🙂 I think I would absolutely have to break it down into smaller units, too!

  2. I am so excited to see this in progress!! 🙂

  3. Wow! As a big Doctor Who fan who has a daughter in college who is also a Whovian, this quilt is so inspiring. Gotta go share it! Love the color choices, and love your daughter’s hair. She’s adorable!

  4. I took the same approach when I made a quilt with 2000 1.5″ squares. I made 4-patches. Your Tardis will be amazing!

  5. It’s looking great! Love your daughter’s hair. In my 20s i had purple stripes in my hair

  6. The quilt is looking fabulous and I love Annie’s new hair colour!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

