Ennea-quilts

Maybe I should just give up on summer blogging? Even when I manage to find time to sew, I can’t find time to type. But at the moment, my kiddos are BOTH away at camp in the mountains. Husband had to work late last night, and I got an entire quilt top done in one night*! And dammit, today I’m going to tell you about it.

I went back to the pair of baby quilts mentioned in my last post. I figured out the layout for each one. And each has a sneaky little inside reference that is making me so happy. The professional development group that I am in with both moms-to-be has often worked with a very cool tool called the Enneagram.  When first introduced to it years ago, I worried that it would be too touchy-feely for me. I was so wrong! Each personality type is assigned a number. I’m a textbook 5… And one of the moms-to-be is a 3, the other a 7. I managed to work out my designs to reflect that- and to not have a single block leftover!

Our first mom is a type 3. So she gets 3 rows of chevrons!

IMG_8345

The border is the wonderful doggy batik I showed you up close last time. I noticed that there are actually 2 different cats hidden in the pattern. Mom #1 is totally a dog person, so I tried to cut the borders carefully to include as few cats as possible. And I did cut directionally…

Mom #2 is a type 7. My original layout was set 6×6, but, I had enough blocks to make it 6×7- so she has 7 rows.

IMG_8343

I actually like this one a lot better as a rectangle. It seems to work with the reverse layout. This one is also getting borders- a tiny bit skinnier than the other one- but as you can see I didn’t get to it last night.

And it will take another few days to get back to it. Somehow, when planning the kids’ week away at camp, I didn’t even notice that they would be gone over out 16th wedding anniversary. So we’re sneaking away to the mountains for 2 nights all by ourselves! Whoooooo!

* btw I did finish quilting and binding the quilt for my new cousin- and I’m planning to mail it this week! And hopefully even blogging about it.

IMG_8183

Linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday, WIP Wednesday, and Let’s Bee Social.

12 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Gift, Pinned it AND made it!, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

12 responses to “Ennea-quilts

  1. Both quilts are attractive in themselves, but adding the bit about personality scores, and they become special and custom designed.

  2. Great quilts. I love how you’ve managed to subtly reflect their personalities in them

  3. Both of the quilts are so pretty, and I really like how you customized them to the mothers-to-be. I totally understand what you’re saying about not having enough time to blog in summer. It seems like I’m always driving one of my kids somewhere!

  4. Love the scrappy chevrons! I will have to check out the personality tool.

  5. What cool, personalized gifts!! I really love that dinosaur/dragon fabric shown in your last photo, too!

  6. Cher

    awesome quilts and how personal in such a fun way! woohoo for a romantic get away! yes, I suck the most at not blogging …it is hard to get everything in …you totally rock girl

  7. I really like that you were able to personalize the quilts to them a bit with using the number of rows to reflect their personalities. That speaks to my nerdy math side so much! 🙂

  8. Love the way you’ve got the colours flowing through the blocks, it’ll definitely keep those babies busy looking at them! Umm, not sure I want to know what my personality type is… Wishing you a wonderful time in the mountains and a very happy anniversary 🙂

  9. They both look great. The dog border fabric works really well.

  10. This post made me laugh. I totally feel you, friend! 🙂

  11. Pingback: A perfect pair | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

