I’m dog-tired!

I’m ba-ack!

Since last I posted, I’ve watched my daughter kill it as Lancelot in Monty Python’s Spamalot,

DSC_0339

watched my son play innumerable little league games,

6-16-15-game-14

gotten promoted at work, and also been to California and back…

55803100266

IMG_7749

Zoinks. What I have not done is had time to sew, or to post on the blog.

Last week I tried to finish the rainbow baby quilt for my new little cousin (due today, but SHE arrived early, while we were still in CA…) And the screw for my walking foot had somehow vanished (never fear, I got a new screw earlier this week.) But because I actually had some time to sew, I decided to start on the next 2 baby quilts on my list.

I have two friends, work friends (but not at my actual place of work) who are due 2 weeks apart. Both are having boys. Both are in a professional development group with me. So, they know one another. I decided that I would make semi-matching quilts for them, from the same batik roll that inspired my rainbow star quilt.

IMG_6187

When I cleaned up scraps and stash earlier this year, I found an old piece of batik that I’ve always loved. And it’s PERFECT for these 2 moms-to-be: both of them are serious dog lovers. In fact, I just found out today that one of them actually had a dog-themed shower.

IMG_8049

I went through my pinterest boards and found some inspiration, and settled on a great tutorial by Amy at Stitchery Dickery Dock. I love projects that can be completed from stash! So I cut strips from my batik roll, and matched them up, and then sewed them into HSTs. Now comes the fun part- so many layout possibilities!

Here’s what I’m playing with for the first one:

IMG_8047

It’s just an idea at the moment. I should have enough squares to actually set them each 6×7, but this one is currently 6×6. The blocks finish at 6″ square, so it will be 36×42.  A decent size for a baby quilt… But should I use the dogs on the front as a border for a little more size, or just as the backing? I do love border-free quilts, but sometimes they are fab for adding size.

I ran out of time to try more ideas, but rest assured I’ll be playing more, hopefully this weekend. After the end-of-season little league tournament and party, that is!

Linking up with WIP Wednesday and Let’s Bee Social.

5 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Gift, Kids, Quilts, Travel, WIP Wednesday

5 responses to “I’m dog-tired!

  1. Cher

    fun quilt to whip up! I thought of you when I met Tula Pink at Sisters last weekend…eventually photos will show up on my blog…whenever my sweetie emails them to me!

  2. I tend to vote for borders when dealing with points on a quilt top (that way I don’t sweat the binding), and I also really like to make generously sized baby quilts. That’s just me, though. 🙂 It sounds like you have had a busy but really lovely summer!

  3. You have been busy! Love those hst’s, so colourful and just right for a new baby or two! The layout is great, look forward to seeing how it grows 🙂

  4. I love the stripes in your HSTs. I usually like borderless, but that dog fabric would look so cute as a border if you have enough. Sounds like your summer’s been busy, but in the best way!

  5. Congrats on the work promotion! I love the layout of the new quilt. I think either way would be lovely, borders or without. I know I’m no help.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

