WIP Wednesday (the teensy tiny version)

We’ve been so busy around this joint- building new patio furniture to replace what was ravaged by the epic September hailstorm…     

 

And then finally putting up the awesome new mailbox my mom gave me for xmas…    plus going to see The Breakfast Club on the big screen with 12 of my nearest and dearest,   

(and who could forget our geeky weekend) that there’s barely been any time for sewing.

But I did manage to pull off a little bit. 2 little bits, actually. 2 blocks for Quilting Jet Girl’s wonderful project- read about it here.

I made one block for each quilt. First, for the boy:  I was so excited to have a use for that music note fabric- I think it’s been in my stash for 10 years or more! And some of my ever growing stash of tonal pearl bracelets. They’re just so useful.

Next, for the girl’s quilt. I found a tutorial for a fish, and just adapted it a tiny bit to make it the right size… (If you use the same tutorial for the same project, I’d suggest reducing the center rectangle of the fish’d body rather than shortening the tail blocks like I did.) It was wonderful that my new Tula pink and grey print fit the requirements exactly- and that the blue came from stash. Something about butterflies on a fish makes me smile- and hopefully it will do the same for the recipient.

Meanwhile, there’s going to be even less sewing around this place for a bit. We’re taking a long weekend in Santa Fe (have I mentioned how much I like working at a school, and getting breaks off?) When we get back, I’ll still have 5 full days off from work, and while I’ve filled those days with breakfast and lunch plans with friends, I also plan to tackle an ugly project.

My scraps.

I’m going to turn on the TV in the sewing room, and not sew anything until the awful scrap disaster is dealt with. Hopefully I won’t exhaust Netflix’s streaming options before then! Wish me luck. And- if you have any great scrap organizing tips, send em my way!

Linking up with WIP Wednesday and Let’s Bee Social.

11 Comments

Filed under Quilts, WIP Wednesday

11 responses to “WIP Wednesday (the teensy tiny version)

  1. I’ll be curious to see what people say about organizing your scraps. I’m always on the look out for new ideas, too! My scraps seem to take on a life of their own! The patio furniture looks awesome!

    • I read up online, and saw lots of different ideas, but in the end I decided for ME, sorting my color rather than size makes the most sense. I’ve spent hours this week sorting, and am almost done!

      Whoo!

      -Sam

      >

  2. Oh man, I want to come hang out on your new patio furniture! It looks so comfy! Thank you so very much for the blocks, they are just right. 🙂 I hope you enjoy your break and wish you much luck and success tackling that scrap project.

    • If you’re ever in the Denver area, you have a standing invite to come hang out on my patio 🙂

      I didn’t get the blocks mailed before our mini santa fe vacation, but I’ll get them out to you ASAP.

      -Sam

      >

  3. Yay for new patio furniture! That mailbox is so cute.
    Good luck with the scraps. I always struggle with that and end up donating them.

  4. Do as I say, not as I do, LOL. I have a dedicated 2.5″ bin. Ideally, I would have other bins for other common sizes. In reality, I have a growing pile by the cutting table! I like the thought of color bins and a place for fat quarter and larger pieces.

  5. Love the mail box! My little girl is very taken with it. She has a thing about mail boxes since we’ve never lived in a house that actually has mail delivery to it!

    Good luck dealing with the scraps. I’m ignoring mine…

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

