A short hop on a long trip.

I started a scrappy trip along precisely to have a go-to between other projects- especially a go to that is simple (I’m using Bonnie at Quiltville’s excellent tutorial, the only difference is my strips are 2″ wide, because I had a ton already cut that size). So, I’m between projects right now… and I got it back out last week.

 I’m up to 36 blocks now. Not bad for a project I barely touch. I’m pretty certain that this barn raising style layout will be my final choice. This one is ALSO destined for our bed, so I need it to be 10×10 blocks to get it to size.

By the end of this year, I’d like to have 3 new quilts for our bed. My goal was always to have 4 to rotate between (seasonally?), and we were at 3. But then there was the great bleach incident that is too painful to talk about, and we were back to 2. I love them both, but I get bored. One is also a wee bit narrower than I would like- I so wish I’d added ANOTHER extra row when I made it. You can check it out on my old blog. No wonder I’m bored with my bed quilts- looks like they both date back to 2007! When this one is done, I will have a total of 5 to choose from. The 2 current options, the modern cross that’s being quilted right now, the city sampler, and then this. Not too shabby!

Linking up with WIP Wednesday and Let’s Bee Social.

12 Comments

Filed under Quilts, WIP Wednesday

12 responses to “A short hop on a long trip.

  1. Personally, my husband and I sleep under 2 or 3 of my quilts at all times. Kinda weird, but there you go. I currently have 4 that I rotate around, but with multiple on the bed at once I’m thinking I will be needing to make another one in the next year or two. What a great filler project, and how awesome that you’ll be up to 5 bed quilts soon!

    • We sleep under one quilt, and then my side of the bed has a duvet. I like to be buried under heavy covers and rich prefers minimal… so we compromise.

      Can’t wait to get to 5!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 25, 2015 at 12:54 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. terri414cb

    I love Trip Around the World quilts! I like your design. Purple and green are one of my favorite combinations. It looks so good with your quilt! The white “stripe” is a great idea for a separator.

    I also want to have 4 different bed quilts. The first I made just barely covers the top of my bed. I made a beautiful string quilt in a king size to cover our queen bed and it is fabulous. I’m about to finish a blue and white sampler and it will fit the bed with a drop around the sides.

    I cringed when I read about your bleach disaster! I’m so sorry for you.

    • I started making King sized quilts for our queen bed, too- I have found that I prefer a huge quilt that hangs over the side nicely. Your string quilt and sampler sounds great.

      Thank you for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 25, 2015 at 1:34 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. Ok, you’ve inspired me to start my trip around the world. I even have jelly rolls of purples and greens. And what a great idea to have several to choose from for your bed. just brilliant! I’m curious about the bleach incident. But that’s ok, you don’t have to tell me 🙂

    • The worst thing about the bleach incident is that we don’t know what happened. 3 quilts that had been folded on top of the dryer ended up ruined- but we don’t know how. I’m secretly sure it’s my husband’s fault and he’s sure it’s mine. UGH.

      Enjoy your trip- the blocks are really satisfying to make.

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 25, 2015 at 2:36 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. Your ‘trip around the world’ is looking wonderful … I particularly like the way you have included those lighter bits with the greens & purples! Linda

    • I really wanted to give the quilt a secondary design, and the white squares let me do just that… 🙂 -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 25, 2015 at 2:52 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. I’m still trying to get around to making my first quilt for my bed, ha! Too many things demand my attention instead!!

    I love how this is coming out! The layout you’ve got in right now is really effective with the white through the centres.

    • You churn out so many amazing minis and swaps and round robins- no wonder you don’t have time for the bed!!

      I really like this layout- I feel like it brings order to the chaos…

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 25, 2015 at 7:02 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. This quilt is lovely! Great color choice for a bed, very calming and comforting. The only bed quilt we have is the first one I made (over 5 years ago), but I’ve been planning a second one for the past two years….hoping this is the year I actually make it! And then I’ll have to start planning a third!

  7. Love this one. I’m looking forward to living somewhere I can have a quilt on the bed…we usually have just a sheet, if it’s a really “cold” night a thin cotton blanket gets added (about 4 times a year). I miss my quilts and get sick of the sheets.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

