It’s Tula Top Time!

I think I might have mentioned that I finished my Tula Pink City Sampler top two weekends back?

Yup. I totally did.

IMG_4772

I spent a Sunday holed up in my sewing room, with the new season of House of Cards. (It took 4.5 episodes to get the top finished up.)

I was driven to find a way to get the entire thing on my design wall- and in doing so, I rearranged some furniture. Pros: WAY more space on design wall, room for a new cube shelf for even more yarn storage. Cons: I think I liked the way it looked before a wee bit better. But the trade off for more space is worth it. I’ll take pics once I have the yarn re-stored.

I wanted to show this to you all as soon as it was done. But I have been really struggling with getting a decent photo. A queen sized top if hard to show off…

I did take it for a test run on our bed.

IMG_4845

It’s just the right size!

And the background fabric really is perfect. I love it so much. Such a happy feeling when a project works out…

I took the quilt out to the front yard and enlisted family to hold it up for some photos. But it is so big, I couldn’t dodge the sun…

DSC_8037

Not a great photo at all. I’m consoling myself with the idea that, once this is quilted and bound, I will find some way to get photos that do it justice. Of course, first I have to figure out what to do for the back. I have a decent bit of the Anna Maria Horner Dowry print that I used as a focus fabric leftover. Also some of the Carolyn Friedlander backing. And some yardage of SOME of the Tula prints in the top… And I picked up a pile of tonal deep purple Pearl Bracelets for the binding.

Just over a year from start to completed top. Here’s hoping it’s on my bed by the end of 2015…

Linking up with WIP Wednesday, Let’s Bee Social, and Sew Cute Tuesday.

37 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL, WIP Wednesday

37 responses to “It’s Tula Top Time!

  1. Giant Gorgeous Quilt!
    A finish to be proud of!!

  2. mamacatquilts

    I am so impressed that you did all 100 blocks! It looks terriffic. I am in the process of quilting my Tula Pink City Sampler, and I only completed about 50 blocks, and then threw in some Farmers Wife blocks too to round it out to 64 total. I can’t tell from the photos, how did you quilt yours? Saw you up on WIP Wednesday with Freshly Pieced.

    • It’s not quilted yet- my big finish was just getting the top done! I am very much considering sending it out to be quilted- I’ve sent 2 to a local longarmer who is new, and amazing, and i think she’d work magic with this one.

      Yours sounds great!

      Thank you for visiting, Sam

      On Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 9:24 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. Yay! It’s been fun watching this come together Congrats on a great finish!

    • Thank you 🙂 It’s been fun to do- glad it’s also been fun to watch. Now I just need to get it done for real.

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 9:50 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. It looks fabulous on your bed, and I am so glad that you love the background. Yay!

    • Thank you, Yvonne 🙂 That arichitextures fabric is wonderful. I plan to stock up on some in various colors- what a great non-boring blender.

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 10:39 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. Sue

    I love it! The background makes the blocks really pop.

    • Thank you- that was exactly what I was going for with the background. I wanted the blocks to really stand out.

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 10:55 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. Woo! It really does look so great!

    I really need to something with mine. Is it crazy that I actually want to make it again ?! I feel like I’m better at piecing now (I started it not long after I started quilting) and would be able to make better blocks… but I just don’t want to waste what I’ve done with the first lot 😦

    • So can I also admit that I’d like to make it again? My 10 blocks a month was fun- but my tastes and fabric choices changed so much over the year that i am really curious what would have happened if i made them all closer together…

      If you can come up with a good reason to do it all over again, please let me know?

      -Sam

      On Thu, Mar 19, 2015 at 12:27 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Congratulations Sam! It’s gorgeous.

  8. Cher

    well done Sam! what a fabulous finished quilt top…kudos for sticking with it and I am sure you will come up with a fun back as well…so happy for you

  9. Sam, your top is stunning! You’ve worked so hard on this one, congratulations on the finish!

  10. Congrats! It couldn’t be more gorgeous. Will you be sending this out or quilt it yourself?

  11. Tiruba Tuba

    This is so awesome!! It looks great!! I love that you went with gray. Gorgeous!!

  12. That is a beautiful quilt! I love love love the colors! The gray background really makes the colors pop! I did the Tula Pink Modern blocks quilt as well. I can’t decide how to quilt it though! I look forward to seeing how you quilt yours! It really is quite an accomplishment to complete the 100 block quilt!

    • I will most likely be sending it out to be quilted. There’s a mom of a student at the school where I work who is an AMAZING long armer, and I may work with her on it. When I get my budget prepared to handle that, that is… Deciding how to quilt it is always super stressful with any project.

      -Sam

      >

  13. I have been out of blogland for awhile and I just checked in to find that you had finished your quilt! It looks stunning! Let me know if you have any interest in having me quilt it for you… My most basic quilt is $.015 per square inch. Congratulations on your hard work!

    • Welcome back to bogland 🙂 I will probably work with a quilter who’s son goes to the school where I work. She’s done 2 for me before, and it’s great that she can bring them to school for me when she picks up her son 🙂

      -Sam

      >

  14. Congrats on finishing your Tula top! Someday I hope to make this quilt.

  15. Yay! It looks great! I’m so excited for you! 🙂

  16. Pingback: Elizabeth for Charlotte… | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

