To Infinity and Beyond

I’ve been off the blog for a while, because after finishing my Tula top, I was beat. Oh, yeah, I finished that sucker! And I’m struggling to take some decent photos to show you- a 90×90 queen sized top is hard to shoot.

Meanwhile, I’ve been busy. Finished a shawl, a hat, and some socks. Started a new afghan. Had one of my busiest work weeks of the year. And also threw a little party.

You might have heard, at least if you are in the US, that this past Saturday was the Pi Day of the Century. 3/14/15. To take it further, the exact moment of 9:26am and 53 seconds on March 14, 2015 is the longest date representation of the mathematical abstract Pi this century. At least, if you record dates the American way… Pi Day is always a fabulous reason to eat pie- but the Pi Day of the Century calls for more than just a pie. So we invited some equally geeky friends over and we ate all the pies.

And I do mean all of them.

pies savoryTo start, we had shepherd’s pie, quiche, and PI-zza. Rich made the shepherd’s pie from scratch. I married well. The quiche and pizza came from Costco- and we personalized the pizza with some extra pizza sauce.

Of course, we couldn’t stop there. Savory pies are great, but we needed sweet ones as well.

pies sweetOur guest Becky made not one but 2 of the most amazing apple pies ever- and she had a cute helper.

IMG_4819There’s honey on the crust. Oh it was good. And because she made two, we got leftovers!!

My mom contributed…

IMG_4816

…her amazing chocolate cream pie- a Thanksgiving tradition in our family since I learned about the pie as a grade schooler.

Rich made a meta-pie.

10300077_10205998036292885_2048191328246467106_nHe started with a chocolate chip cookie dough crust, and filled it with ice cream. But that wasn’t all. The ice cream was Lazy Sunday by Ben & Jerry’s– ice cream that contains pieces of cake, and frosting. So, it was a cookie-cake-ice cream-pie.

I even baked. This is a very big deal. I am afraid of my kitchen*, and truly hate preparing food. Eating it? Whole ‘nother story.

11057512_10205998035852874_8958418942156116735_n

I made butterscotch whoopee pies. I found a recipe online that was easy enough even for me… These were delicious, but very very very sweet. I think eating one all by yourself would give you insta-diabetes.

 IMG_4823

Thank goodness this day only comes around once a century, because we might not survive another one!

*I have a whole huge list of kitchen mishaps that have contributed to this actual fear, including second degree burns from ramen noodles, a minor explosion trying to light a pilot light- when my hands were still in the stove, and a stove with electric burners that ended up having an exposed element and dramatically exploding our first day in a new apt when a pot boiled over. Plus, I just HATE cooking.  

10 Comments

Filed under Food, General Geekery

10 responses to “To Infinity and Beyond

  1. Sounds like a lot of pi fun

  2. I am afraid of my kitchen. Best.Line.Ever! Belatedly, we just had a mini celebration tonight with individual cherry pies. Looking forward to seeing your completed Tula 100!! I know it’s spectacular.

  3. All of this post reminds me that I need to go eat my Kale salad… but the left over sweet potato pie is now calling my name instead! 🙂 Congratulations on finishing the Tula quilt top!!

    • LOL. I am in post-pi recovery. Apple and humus and crackers for lunch today… but then corned beef tonight, so, oops!

      -Sam

      On Mon, Mar 16, 2015 at 9:43 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. Wow- those are some doozies with some cooking accidents/mishaps! There are so many reasons to dislike cooking and you certainly have quite a few. Can’t wait to see that Tula top…. I agree that photographing large tops is a challenge… Any neighbors with a balcony you could drape it over?

    • Nope, no balconies or raised decks 😦 That was my first thought… I might maybe be able to hang it over our backyard fence and shoot it from the neighbors’ side- we’re at the top of the hill and they’re at the bottom, so there’s quite a drop off from one side to the other.

      Not only do I hate cooking, my husband excels at it, so, even more reason not to cook ever if I can avoid it. When the kids were younger, I knew every “kids eat free” deal around town for the nights when he had to work late…

      -Sam

      On Tue, Mar 17, 2015 at 10:47 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. Looks like a lovely day. Friends were telling me recently that when they lived in Thailand they used their oven once (in 4 years) to heat up pizza. They ate every meal out….

    • How did I not reply before? That sounds brilliant to me. If only I could afford to never eat at home- or to hire a private chef. Sigh.

      -Sam

      On Tue, Mar 17, 2015 at 4:51 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

