Back, for the Future…

On Sunday, I did something very exciting- I spent the day piecing the back for my Modern Cross quilt, and also prepping the top to be dropped off, and then I took them to the longarmer!

This quilt, by the time I get it back, will have been a 4 year project. 4 full years. I had big plans for it to be my February AYOLF project, but it turns out my quilter has been getting a lot of new business. I am very happy for her- and really, at this point, if I don’t get it back until April, does it really matter? What’s a few more weeks? (Besides, it’s king size, and it will be pricey… fair payment for amazing work, but still a hit for my budget…) So, it’s not to be a February finish after all.

At least I already owned enough coordinating fabric to piece the back without spending a penny.

IMG_4331

Sometime, years and years ago, I bought huge yardage of those 2 Kaffe fabrics. Like, at least 9 of one and 7 of the other. (Gosh, I hope they were on sale. I bet they were.) They coordinate perfectly, and they work with the top. I also had 7 blocks left from the front, so I decided to piece them into the back. (2 of them are the same- and that fabric didn’t end up in the top at all- I couldn’t decide if it was green, blue, or purple, and so my OCD side didn’t know where to put it…)

IMG_4334 IMG_4336

I put them into the center of the center panel of backing, then I added the corn-ish print to either side. When I got to the quilter’s, she put it up on her frame, and I managed to ALMOST get a shot of it- at least enough to give you the idea.

IMG_4342

It’s freakin huge. 108×129. The top comes in at 95×100… We put it up on the frame, too, and I got another shot of the entire thing…

IMG_4345

I cannot wait to sleep under it- especially as the custom quilting Yael designed is awesome- sleek, modern, geometric, and just the right amount of understated. We’re going to do one color change- white on the background, and a color on the crosses. As always, thread color was the toughest choice…

IMG_4340

We ended up going with the purple second from the left. I’m planning to bind in purple, and this one looked so rich and jewel-like on the various squares. I should get it back April-ish, and then, I’ll bind it and sew on 100 buttons, one in the center of each square. I’m not excited about that- but I am thinking in the end it will be worth it. Now for the hardest part- the wait to get it back!

Linking up with WIP Wednesday, Sew Cute, and Let’s Bee Social.

22 Comments

Filed under Modern Cross, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

22 responses to “Back, for the Future…

  1. ellen

    Amazing! I can’t wait to see it finished!!!!!

  2. Lovely! I can’t wait to see how you have it quilted.

  3. It’s going to look so amazing when it’s done! Can’t wait to see what design you’ve chosen for the quilting.

  4. It’s fabulous! Love the back just as much as the front.

    • Thank you, Ruth 🙂 It’s always nice when the back turns out well…and I admit I’m usually to lazy to bother with anything beyond the minimum…

      -Sam

      On Wed, Feb 11, 2015 at 4:46 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. So good! This is going to be amazing when it’s done!

  6. Very cool! That is one big quilt! It would probably end up on my bed before I sewed on all the buttons, so I wish you lots of luck and speed in your buttoning efforts! 😉

    • There’s a good chance we’ll start using it before the buttons are all on… I don’t know if I have the will power to resist.

      -Sam

      On Wed, Feb 11, 2015 at 8:23 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. What a great backing – the quilt is going to be fully reversible. It will be a delight to see the finished project and the quilting that was designed for it!

  8. This is beautiful! Love your colors and fabrics–and really, four years isn’t really that bad!

    • thank you 🙂 The four years is a big deal to me because I went through a huge quilting slump during those years- I started to get my groove back a bit ago, and this finish feels extra good, almost like a symbol of beating the slump 🙂

      -Sam

      On Wed, Feb 11, 2015 at 12:17 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  9. Beautiful! I bet you feel fantastic getting this finished after 4 years!!

  10. lzbth1977

    The thumbnail of this on WIP Wednesday caught my eye – it’s gorgeous!!

    • Thank you 🙂 It’s so huge that it’s hard to photograph, so I had to seize the moment when my longarmer had it up to measure. -Sam

      On Thu, Feb 12, 2015 at 7:42 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  11. RobinSue

    The quilt is breathtaking! I love the colors, rich and vibrant. Congratulations on crossing a to-do off the list.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

