Goallllllll!

I’m not usually very good at goal setting, or retrospectives, or decent posts, come to think of it. I look around blogland and I see all your wonderful posts summing up what you did in 2014, and what you hope to accomplish in 2015. I’m so not good at it, I even missed the deadline for Q1 of the terribly popular 2015 Finish-Along.  Zoinks. But you know what? I’m going to try it. I’m going to make a list of goals, and even though I can’t link-up, I’m going to use that timetable to motivate myself.

With that said, here goes:

Goal 1- and it’s a biggie.

Finish my Tula top.

I had intended for all the blocks to be done by November 2014. But the exciting gallbladder episode, followed by the baby boom at Annie’s school, totally derailed me. I’m pleased to say I’ve spent the first weekends of 2015 back at it, and I only have 4 blocks to go! (I’ll be showing you some progress later this week…) But then I need to decide how to assemble the top. Having a deadline will force me to abandon my usual indecisive dilly-dallying. What I know: I want it to be between king and queen sized, to go on our bed.

IMG_3995

Goal #2- begin Annie’s Tardis quilt.

Using this as inspiration, Annie and I are going to work on a Tardis quilt. There has been a pile of blue fabric pulled for a few months now- but no action. Time to get going!

Goal #3- doesn’t count under the finish along rules, but hey, it’s still a goal: start the family placemats I keep promising to make. Thrones the kids have asked about more than once. And after those, an xmas set.

Goal #4- revisit my Sugar Block Club blocks– I have all 12, but I think I might like to make another set and put them into a bed sized quilt. I have loads of leftover fabric, so could easily tackle this. And I do like making a block at a time for a project- I’ll miss it when Tula is done.

Goal #5- baste and quilt the xmas top that has been sitting around for (mumble mumble) years. So long that I can’t even find the blog posts or photos about it, yikes.

That seems like more than enough goals for the moment. Wish me luck!

 

 

13 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL

13 responses to “Goallllllll!

  1. Congratulations for being so close on your Tula blocks! I really look forward to seeing the Tardis quilt you will make, too.

    • I can’t wait to see that Tardis, myself. I may end up putting out a call for Tardis-blue scraps. My stash veers towards purply-blues, turquoises, and lighter shades. I did try to pick up some good bits during some end of year sales…

      -Sam

      On Mon, Jan 19, 2015 at 12:42 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. The Tula blocks are impeccable. You really are making me want to make this one again. I have been in goal setting mode too- just wish I had more time and energy- but don’t we all wish for that?

    • I’m kind of hoping the goal setting will lead to making the time and finding the energy. I know when I feel productive it’s easier to keep going…

      I highly advocate for making the Tula blocks. They’re so much fun!

      -Sam

      On Mon, Jan 19, 2015 at 2:44 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. Sue

    Just wanted to say that I enjoy reading your blog (and looking at your quilts). I miss you when I don’t get a post in my inbox. I like your writing style! Don’t go changing…

    • Thank you for such kind words- I seem to be out of my holiday craziness and possibly back to a regular blogging schedule. We shall see!

      -Sam

      On Mon, Jan 19, 2015 at 6:23 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. I still need to put together my Tula 100 as well. I’ve actually started doing QAYG with the blocks without a backing, then I plan on joining the blocks and attaching the back. I figured ditch stitching to get the front and back joined would be easier to move through the machine than trying to do quilting in all of those blocks. I’m also using my blocks as FMQ practice pieces before I start quilting whatever I’m quilting to get the design down pat as much as I can. Since the blocks were some of the very first things I ever put together, I figure weird scraggly looking beginner FMQ won’t look so out of place with the piecing lol!

    I really love your colour combo and it makes me wish I thought mine through more and picked something more cohesive when making the blocks (I used a layer cake of one collection and then whatever matching solid I could find — I wish I just stuck to handful of solids instead).

    • QAYG sounds like a good plan with these. I recently used a new quilter for the first time on a project for my mom, and she did AMAZING custom work, so I am seriously thinking of sending her my tula, budget be damned.

      Funnily, you think it looks cohesive, but as I’ve been working on the blocks over almost a year, I have added so many fabrics in. I did use one focus fabric, and I think that helped. And I’m trying to be very very thoughtful with the last 15 blocks to balance out my color and fabric selections. IE, I thought I needed a few more pops of green and grey, and probably the hot pink as well… 4 more to go- and picking the fabric for each final one has gotten consecutively harder, as i know I’m almost out of chances…

      -Sam

      On Tue, Jan 20, 2015 at 1:17 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. The tula blocks look fantastic all together like that – can’t wait to see the finished quilt!

  6. Cher

    sorry, just left a comment on a 2014 post! LOL…however, good you are wrapping up your Tula blocks. This will be wonderful for you to enjoy on your bed. I am longing for a new bed quilt for us too…

    • Funnily enough, that post you commented on? That quilt JUST got finished in time for Xmas 2014- and I’m going to be showing the finished product off tomorrow 🙂 -Sam

      On Wed, Jan 21, 2015 at 7:35 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Lorraine

    I saw on the Ravelry stash page, you have two skeins of Tahki Cotton Classic ll color white 2001. If you ever decide to sell them, would you please contact me? Thanks.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

