Four out of Four

Finally!

DSC_8004

Teacher baby quilt #4 is done, and delivered… But not yet distributed. They’re planing on handing out the final 2 quilts sometime after Thanksgiving. This baby isn’t due until closer to Xmas.

I love this one, even if my math mistake made it much bigger than I intended. The only thing I might have changed, aside from my addition error, would be the the block 2nd from left on the bottom row. That light pink is the same piece of fabric as the dark pink polka dot in the 3rd block on the 2nd row- but because I cut from 2 different spots, I hit two very distinct parts of the color way. And the lighter part really stands out. But all in all, I do love this one.

I did simple quilting to outline the centers of the blocks, as well as the edges of the blocks. Simple but effective. Well, simple except for having to bury all the ends from the centers. Ugh.

DSC_8008 DSC_8009

I had so much fun with these fabrics. But I might have had even more fun with the backing…

DSC_8014

The print? It’s another JoAnns score- I’ve been on a roll.

DSC_8020

The teacher/father-to-be is a huge sci-fi fan, and on back to school night I noticed Star Wars stuff in his room. So this fabric that had been on a shelf for ages jumped out at me. If I hadn’t made that math mistake, I probably could have gotten away without having to piece the back, but the magenta does make it nicely girly.

Now that I’m nearing the end of this baby quilt junket, maybe I can return to my final 15 Tula blocks? Maybe I can finish by the end of December instead of November, and that won’t be too bad…

Linking up with TGIFF, Finish It Up Friday, and Fabric Frenzy Friday.

 

12 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Finish It Up Friday, Gift, Quilts

12 responses to “Four out of Four

  1. Congratulations on another finish! The backing fabric is super fun, and I like how the binding pops in contrast with the backing.

    • I’m glad you like it. I was confident in how much fun it would be- until I stopped at JoAnns to get the solids, and the cut counter clerk said, “these aren’t going in the same project, are they?” With total incredulity in her voice. Oi.

      -Sam

      On Friday, November 28, 2014, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. Congrats Sam! It looks wonderful.

  3. Love your color choices…there’s no such thing as too much yellow!

    • Yellow and brown are the two least represented colors in my stash, followed by orange, so I was very grateful to have enough on hand to pull off this quilt!

      -Sam

      On Friday, November 28, 2014, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. It’s fabulous! Can’t get over how productive you’ve been and the backing fabric makes the quilt a whole lot of fun.

    • Nothing like promising a 3rd party you’d pull something off to up the productivity! I know I’ve been doing too much- my back is killing me. I think basting yesterday morning was the last straw.

      -Sam

      On Friday, November 28, 2014, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. I think this one is my favorite! It has nothing to do with all of that delicious pink! 🙂

  6. Yes, you certainly have been busy with these 4 little quilts.. I’ve been following your progress! Your fabric colors are just lovely on this one, very pretty! Linda

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

