Stache from Stash

So, all the teacher baby quilts are done (come back Friday to see the final one…). My baby quilt marathon must be over, right? Yeah, not so much.

Sunday found me pulling fabrics for yet another baby quilt.

IMG_0158.JPG

Ages ago I picked up that silly mustache print at JoAnns. It might have even been when I got the flannel backing for the teacher quilts. I had no plans for it, but it made me smile. And it was 50% off to boot.

I have a friend who was pregnant and due sometime soon. She was down at the bottom of my baby quilt list, because there were so many babies due before her. But then… This friend developed a rare and terrifying condition that required the baby to be delivered immediately- at 28 weeks. Mom and baby were both touch and go, but now, weeks later, both are doing well. Clearly this teeny little girl (just over 1lb at birth) needs a special quilt.

So she gets the funky mustache fabric, as well as some very vintage Anna Maria Horner that I’ve had stashed for many years, and the magenta solid is actually left over from the backing of the final teacher quilt. I’m trying to decide if I need one more solid. Thoughts?

I happen to have some green minkee leftover from the quilt I made for my aunt earlier this year, so backing is good to go. And I plan to use the magenta solid for binding.

I got this far on Sunday:

IMG_0157.JPG

The HSTs measure 4″, so at ten across this will be 36″, a good cuddle size. I was debating adding a thin border of the mustaches- I have enough left. I just have to decide how many rows of chevrons I want to do, and if I want more than one row mustaches…

There’s a shower this weekend, but I’m not sure if I can finish this by then. Cross your fingers for me!

And have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Linking to Sew Cute Tuesday, WIP Wednesday, and Let’s Bee Social.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Stache from Stash

  1. The mustache fabric is fabulous. So happy to hear of a positive outcome for your friend and her daughter.

  2. I think 5 chevron rows will be a good size. Such a fun palette!

  3. I like your fabric choices and don’t think you need more solids. So glad your friend and her daughter are doing okay now.

  4. I like the stache and the quilty fabrics. I would have a hard time cutting the quilty one up though. LeeAnna at not afraid of color

  5. I would make 2 rows of the ‘stash chevrons – it’s such a happy print and it lightens the quilt. I know that would make it 6 rows – but I have a hard time making a square quilt! A rectangle just makes more sense cause you’ve got that little extra to tuck under your toes! Am I alone thinking that?

    • i did end up adding another row, but of light pink. And a mustache border. I go back and forth between loving the symmetry of square quilts vs the shape of rectangular ones. I know what you mean about tucking under goes πŸ™‚ -Sam

      On Wednesday, November 26, 2014, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. I love it. For some reason I’m in to mustache prints too. RBD seems to do one or two a year. One of my first projects was a set of mustache cushions for a friend.

    I’m so pleased to hear that your friend and are baby are doing better now. How terrifying for you all.

    Happy quilting,
    Jane

    • Henry has been into fake mustaches for a few years (I have many pix of him sporting them) and over that time I’ve come to kind of love them, too πŸ™‚

      I bet those cushions were awesome!

      -Sam

      On Wednesday, November 26, 2014, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Cher

    I would suggest a lighter pink solid myself..looks great so far!

  8. I can’t wait to see this finished…. I can see by your responses to the previous comments that you made more progress. I love that cute mustache fabric. It is so fun! Congrats to mom and baby!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

