It all adds up

Another Friday, another installment in the baby quilt marathon…

DSC_7990

This time, I’ve wrapped up the 3rd baby quilt, which is actually for the first baby girl, the one who was born over the summer. Her dad teaches science and math, and science is his true passion. (I learned this on back to school night). This was the one with tie dyed blocks in 2 different color ways. Putting them together into a Modern Plus Quilt seemed like an excellent idea- both thematically as plusses for a math teacher sounded cute, and stylistically, because I could mix up the colors.

DSC_7994 DSC_7995 DSC_7996

You can see a close up of the kids’ blocks above. I actually had a lot of fun playing with patterns and fabrics to make them work in the same project. It is quite a collection of scraps and bits from all my years of quilting. My favorite kind of quilt!

I picked the blue Kaffe Fassett polka dot for the binding for a few reasons- it was bold enough to tie the entire thing together, and it matched the amazing backing fabric. I picked up the backing fabric before I even started the quilt. And it doesn’t really match the front, but when you see it, you’ll know why I HAD to use it.

DSC_7998

DSC_8002

Yup, it’s science fabric- soft, sweet science flannel fabric. It’s perfect! And that binding ties it all together.

I did my super simple crosshatch quilting. It is fast, and it works so well with this design. The quilt has been dropped off at school, but it won’t be distributed just yet. The thought right now is to finish the final one, and present the pair together.

3 down, one more to go.

Linking up with TGIFF, Finish It Up Friday, and Fabric Frenzy Friday.

8 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Finish It Up Friday, Gift, Quilts

8 responses to “It all adds up

  1. Ok, this is cool! I love the colors in the plusses (so terrific for a math teacher), and the signatures – that dinosaur! šŸ™‚

  2. I really Like your plus quilt, you have used a lovely colour pallet šŸ™‚

  3. Cher

    woot! this one is especially a favorite of mine…a total fabulous quilt!
    with the perfect backing as you said. love it XX00

  4. Jayne

    Pretty and so bright! Perfect!

  5. Yay! Another one finished! What will you do with all of your free time when you’re done?? šŸ™‚

  6. This quilt looks very good, well done! Looking forward to the next one!

  7. Fantastic! The backing fabric is perfect, and I really like the thought you put into selection of the pattern, too. Congratulations – you’re halfway there!

  8. The backing fabric is fabulous! Love the front too.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!