2 down, again in the nick of time!

Babies, babies everywhere… both teacher’s babies that were due 11/9 arrived, safe, healthy and happy, just before their due dates. And aside from the teachers, 2 other friends welcomed babies last week! What a boom!

DSC_7973

And, happily, I got teacher baby quilt #2 done and quilted, and dropped off at school and handed over to the new mom, one whole day before her son arrived! Phew! I showed you this one last week:

DSC_7979

I am so happy with how it came out- bright and cheerful and fun. I used super simple diagonal lines for the quilting. It’s becoming my go to for these simple quilts.

DSC_7981

The binding worked out perfectly. I had just a wee bit more than I needed to both be binding, and also to help make the backing wide enough.

DSC_7983

The pink of the backing looks more red here, but in reality it’s a pretty hot pink (see below). And it’s covered in really fun animals, just like the border on the front. I have no idea who made this fabric- it’s more than 10 years old, and dug out from deep in my stash.

DSC_7985

I think it is gender-neutral enough to be fine for a little boy. The green binding helps…

2 down, 2 to go.

Linking up with Fabric Frenzy FridayFinish It Up Friday and TGIFF.

10 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Finish It Up Friday, Gift, Quilts

10 responses to “2 down, again in the nick of time!

  1. Woo hoo! Way to go! That is an adorable baby quilt!

  2. ellen

    You’re a baby quilt making machine! I am jealous of your fabric time. I need some fabric therapy…

  3. That looks like Laurel Birch animal fabric. Woo Hoo for meeting deadlines 🙂

  4. I’m really enjoying this baby quilt parade. Do you know which gender all the babies are, or are some a surprise?

    • The teacher babies are 3 girls and one boy. The 3 babies born to friends recently are 2 girls and a boy. Girls are totally winning right now- which is great as my stash is kind of girly!

      -Sam

      >

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

