One down in the nick of time…

I finished baby quilt #1 and sent it to school on Thursday, with 3 days to spare before the due date. But the wee one must have known her quilt was done, as she arrived either late Weds night or early Thurs am! Mom and baby are healthy and well, and the quilt will be getting to them when the art teacher pays a visit… Talk about in the nick of time!

DSC_7962

I used the recipe at Crazy Mom Quilts for Economy Blocks with a 4.5″ center. Any issues with the piecing are all me, not the pattern. I mentioned it in a previous post, but it bears much repeating: the squares that were hand dyed by the art teacher ended up being a nightmare to work with! On many, the edges frayed over 1/4″! But to preserve the kids’ designs, I had to leave them be or risk cutting into their art. So I wiggled and eased and fudged, and as a result, my points are so far from perfect it’s almost funny! I have learned so much from this project. Next time we dye yardage and THEN cut it into squares to be decorated, even if it will take longer. Wait, next time?? There can’t possibly be any more babies after this mini-boom!

DSC_7967

Even with all the piecing issues and wonkiness, I think it worked. The purple solids were all from stash, of course. Because I have more purple than anything else, and it seemed to work nicely. I arranged the rows so that the background colors of the blocks went in diagonal lines- it looked sort of like argyle to me, and that made me happy.

DSC_7968

There are 20 blocks; 16 have centers enhanced by the kids and 4 are just dyed, nothing else. My absolute fave is the robot/alien?? in the top left corner… And speaking of robots-

DSC_7970 DSC_7972

Kati, the teacher/new mom who received this one, was formerly the science and math teacher. This year, she switched to subbing and being the school’s curriculum coordinator. This allows her to come back part time after the baby… But don’t adorable pink robots seem just right for a slightly girly science teacher’s baby girl?

I did simple straight line quilting with a variegated pink/purple thread that had been sitting around for years. I love the way the quilting looks on the back, but the front probably needed more. It’s much more wrinkly than I would have liked. But at least it’s done and ready to be delivered to the newly delivered 😉

One down, 3 to go.

Linking up with TGIFF and Finish It Up Friday.

18 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Finish It Up Friday, Quilts

18 responses to “One down in the nick of time…

  1. bkringel

    The result is so cute. Especially that backing fabric. Congrats to the new mama.

    • Thank you- the back fabric really made me smile and I hope it does mom and baby as well. The art teacher is delivering it to mom this week, so I haven’t heard yet if she likes it.

      -Sam

      On Fri, Nov 7, 2014 at 9:10 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. You’ve done a great job!

  3. What a precious gift for the teacher! She’s sure to treasure it.

    • I hope so! The kids were so excited to work on the squares for all the teachers and their babies! thank you for coming by.

      -Sam

      On Fri, Nov 7, 2014 at 6:26 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. Okay that backing fabric is FABULOUS. Do you know who it is by.

  5. Cher

    turned out fabulous Sam! and I agree, the quilting worked well. hip hip hooray for a timely finish and on to the next one…

  6. You did a fine job working with that challenging tie dye… isn’t it funny how a different kind of fabric can throw us for a loop? I’m sure Mama & Baby love it already!

  7. I think I am repeating myself here…but this is great! Will be so loved!

    • Gosh, I hope so! The purple one is the quietest of them, in terms of pattern, but i think it matches this new mom the best. I hope…

      -Sam

      On Sat, Nov 8, 2014 at 3:44 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  8. That is very cute and the perfect backing! 🙂 thanks for linking up with TGIFF

    • Thanks, Laura 🙂 I like one of the next backings even more! (You’ll have to come back and see it when I finish…)

      -Sam

      On Sun, Nov 9, 2014 at 6:11 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  9. Pingback: The Final Four | Diary of a Madfabriholic

  10. That’ great — I love the robots!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

