Tula Tuesday: Blocks 64-66

Good thing I sewed these blocks BEFORE the house fell apart and I got sick!

 

IMG_0487

House update: fans and dehumidifiers have been removed (!), hole to roof where wasps were entering has been temporarily plugged, and contractor has been called back in- waiting on him now. Me update: looks like gallbladder is probably coming out. I’ve been switched to a clear liquid diet, which sucks, and sent for a surgery consult. Since we have Kaiser, getting that scheduled is turning out to be a nightmare. My abdomen is incredibly sore and tender, and doing anything for more than a few moments is a terrible idea. Also, I shouldn’t knit in pain, as I had to rip out an entire heel of my current sock due to a really dumb mistake.

I had my next 3 Tula blocks done already, but I hadn’t taken pics, so I called on my daughter for help. Hence, in the photo above, they are out of order and one is sideways. But I’m still grateful to her for her help!

Block 64: I am so very very happy with this one- look how the cotton and steel purple dots line up on the diagonal!

IMG_1222 IMG_1229

Total accident, totally perfect.

Block 65: a peeping squirrel!

IMG_1224 IMG_1232

I wish I had faced the purple pearl bracelets down instead of up, but I still love this wonky little block.

Block 66: somehow this one ended up 7.5″ wide! WTF? How did I pull that off?

IMG_1228 IMG_1235

It’s the only one I’ve squared up so far, because, that was just insane.

No idea when I will feel well enough to sit and sew again. Sitting is very uncomfortable. Hopefully this clear liquid diet will work, and calm down my gallbladder and alleviate the pain… Hopefully.

Meanwhile, here’s my progress update:

tula blocks 1 thru 25 city sampler blocks 26-50 city sampler blocks 50-66

Time for more greens and treys? Deep purples?

Did you have any Tula progress this week? Link up below…

Meanwhile, I’ll be at Sew Cute Tuesday, Let’s Bee Social, and WIP Wednesday.

Hope you’re all having a better week than me!

10 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL, WIP Wednesday

10 responses to “Tula Tuesday: Blocks 64-66

  1. I’m pleased to hear that things are progressing, even if it’s all happening in a less than ideal fashion. I hope the boring diet alleviates some of the pain.

    I love your new blocks!

  2. Yay for new blocks! Not-so-yay for the gallbladder situation. 😦

  3. Elise

    I hope you feel better soon! I just now read of your health and house woes, and I hope you (and the house) are quickly on the road to recovery! Love from CA!

  4. Your blocks look wonderful! I really hope you are feeling better soon!

  5. Man, when it rains, it pours, huh? Attitude is the key to getting through and yours seems to be in a good place 🙂 I hope you are feeling better soon. Love the blocks and the top is looking fabulous!

  6. Those are such cute blocks! Gotta love that sweet squirrel! Hope you will be feeling better soon. Will be praying for you!

  7. First and foremost, feel better! Very cute blocks. I like how you lined up the dots and the colors in the squirrel block are excellent! Here’s hoping that good health is just around the corner for you!

  8. Oh for sure, more greens and deep purples. They all look great together and SO MANY!

  9. Just a question Sam. I can’t stop thinking about/planning my City Sampler, even though I probably won’t have time to begin it until March due to a family holiday to Sydney in February and the three very (perhaps overly) complex gift quilts I’ve been working on to bring with me.

    How did you choose the basics and blenders for your quilt? Were they largely things you had on hand, things from your stash, or things you picked up along the way? I’m at such a loss as to what to do. I don’t have a huge stash (particularly of solids and blenders), as I mainly buy things with specific projects in mind. Do you think it’s worthwhile buying a FQ bundle or two (or seven) for this, or just work this out as I go along? Just super obsessed with the Free Spirit solids box that’s super expensive. It’s actually cheaper to buy 75 quarter yard cuts of Kona solids. I’m sorry, all of this is so insignificant, but I trust your judgement and appreciate your advice.

    How’s the house and the boring diet coming along?

  10. Caitlin

    Sorry to hear you’ve been unwell. But wow your quilt is progressing so beautifully!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

