Tula Tuesday: Blocks 56-58

I’m back, and apparently, in a totally purple mood. (Also, I sewed these BEFORE my recent fabric buying trip, but expect to see those fabrics in these blocks ASAP!)

IMG_0510

Not that purple is my fave color or anything…

Block #56 is my fave of this batch.

IMG_0517 IMG_0528

The dotted fabric that looks white is truly a verrrrrrry pale lavender. Instead of the raccoon faces, I used their tales. I’ve already got a few blocks with faces, so tales seemed fun.

Block #57 inspired me to use the exact same fabric scheme as the original.

IMG_0520 IMG_0526

Wish I’d paid a bit more attention to the tiny print block- I cut it but not from the same bit of pattern.

Block #58 was the anti-triangle block, and I was very grateful for it.

IMG_0522 IMG_0524

The print row is one of my fave Amy Butler fabrics ever, from the Love line.

So, in my next blocks, I think I might need to take a tiny purple break? Good thing I have those pretty new fabrics!

tula blocks 1 thru 25 city sampler blocks 26-50 blocks 51-58

Do you have any Tula to share? Link up below.

I’ll be jointing in at Sew Cute Tuesday and Let’s Bee Social.

20 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL, WIP Wednesday

20 responses to “Tula Tuesday: Blocks 56-58

  1. Cher

    yes, I am a huge purple fan too…you are doing fabulous!

  2. Why would you possibly want to take a break from your favorite color? 😉

    • Excellent question! But I do love all the colors i’m using, so it won’t be a painful break…

      -Sam

      On Tue, Jul 22, 2014 at 10:31 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. I love purple too. I love the bottom block the best.

  4. As always, they look great Sam!

  5. Well I like purple and these blocks look great, but in any case the overall effect is of really nicely mixed colours. I like the little raccoon faces peeping out here and there.

    • the various animals peeking out of different blacks make me smile, too 🙂 Thank you for visiting! -Sam

      On Wed, Jul 23, 2014 at 12:01 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. Oh my goodness, seeing all your blocks together like that is most impressive! It is really interesting to see a thoroughly modern sampler and I find that I love it! Glad you put it on Let’s Bee Social!

    • Honestly, putting them all together like that is the only way I can be certain I’m not overusing one color or fabric- but it does feel good to see my accomplishments, too 🙂 I love the look of samplers with modern fabric choices- a perfect marriage of different eras of quilting. Thank you for visiting! -Sam

      On Wed, Jul 23, 2014 at 12:55 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Make what you love when you love it, your fabric interest will be a journey by your quilt projects. Enjoy!

    • i find that you can watch my moods change by my fabric choices at different times! If I had made all 100 blocks in one month, this would have been a very different quilt! thank you for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Jul 23, 2014 at 4:31 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  8. Pretty, pretty, pretty! The straight lines must be a relief after all those triangle blocks. Your fabric choices are so pretty and I love the peeking raccoon tails!

    • I think the placement of this section of the book right after the triangles was very deliberate, for just that reason! -Sam

      On Wed, Jul 23, 2014 at 5:30 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  9. Oh those Tula blocks! I got the book out from the library last week in search of the perfect 6½ inch block for my guild’s banner. I think there was too much selection for me to choose just one! Your purple blocks look lovely!

    • I think it would be hard to pick just one of these blocks- some are so simple that alone they don’t look like much. but together, wow! -Sam

      On Wed, Jul 23, 2014 at 8:31 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  10. Wow! You’ve done a lot! How fun to have so many to use now.

    • Thanks! I’m trying to stick to my 10 blocks/month goal- so far so good- which means I can start assembling the top in December! -Sam

      On Wed, Jul 23, 2014 at 3:21 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

