Sunday Stash, Wherein I Too Succumb to Cotton & Steel Mania (with bonus yarn)

I’m not certain I have ever seen a fabric launch as widely covered by the quilt blog world as Cotton & Steel. I admit, I quite like the line, but goodness, it’s crazy out there.

And yet.

I wanted some for myself (especially the basics/blenders- I’m crazy for those!) I had a brilliant plan. I had a 20% off one item coupon for Fancy Tiger, so why not use it to buy a FQ bundle? Here’s why: they hadn’t actually got any in 😦 They had the entire line…

IMG_0567 IMG_0568

…but not any of the precut bundles.Since I had arrived in the store ready to splurge, I did go through and pick my absolute fave individual pieces:

IMG_0569 IMG_0640 IMG_0643

I could have bought that diagonal dot print in every color, I love it that much. But, I wasn’t THAT ready to splurge. Which turned out to be a good thing, because…

IMG_0570

Right there at the register was the leftover yarn from the Stephen & Steven Tour 2014. (For the third consecutive year, I missed Stephen West’s teaching and tour stop at Fancy Tiger. I am starting to believe that he checks my vacation schedule before booking time in Denver…) Several friends went to the trunk show and/or took classes, and offered to pick me up some of the exclusive yarn. But it is VERY spendy, and I responsibly declined their offers. And then, over a week later, there was some just waiting for me. And I still had that 20% off coupon burning a hole in my pocket (or actually, on my phone, since it was from an app.) So when that gorgeous skein called out to me, I was able to answer it.

IMG_0636 IMG_0638

The yarn is Galaxy by Wild Hare Fiber Studio and the color way is called Neon Zebra, and it is shot though with metallic silver. I have spent the last 2 days petting it. I cannot wait to find the perfect project for it…

Here’s hoping your week was full of delightful stash additions! (Linking up with Sunday Stash…)

16 Comments

Filed under Sunday Stash, westknits

16 responses to “Sunday Stash, Wherein I Too Succumb to Cotton & Steel Mania (with bonus yarn)

  1. I quite like the look of the Cotton and Steel but am stubbornly resisting the hype for now. But it is interesting to know they are lovely in person so justify some of the build-up.

  2. Love that yarn! Can’t wait to see what you do with it. Those fabrics look like they’d go wonderfully with your City Sampler quilt. Is that just coincidence?

  3. The colors are just so fabulous in that cotton and steel fabric!!! Love

    • There are some lovely colors in the Cotton and Steel- and I of course managed to pick out the ones that look like everything I already own πŸ˜‰ -Sam

      On Sun, Jul 20, 2014 at 12:38 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. All I can say is, you have AMAZING willpower. πŸ™‚

  5. Love both the yarn and the fabric! Gorgeous.

  6. Sometimes I feel like the only person who isn’t the crazy about Cotton and Steel. I like it and wouldn’t turn it down if I won any or was gifted any but I don’t think it’s that special for all the hype, particularly when it went crazy before actual pictures of the fabrics were shown?! I’ve been thinking about getting some of the basics to fill up the colour sin my stash I’m missing, but I can’t decide on which colours in which prints and then looking at the main lines I just don’t feel excited about them. The only one I really like and want for sure is the tiger one.

    • I think the fervor surrounding the fabric can be directly tied to a very very skilled manipulation of the quilt blog marketing machine. Between the bloggers and Instagram all pushing it, it’s EVERYWHERE.

      -Sam

      (PS As you can see, I like the tiger print myself πŸ™‚

      On Sun, Jul 20, 2014 at 9:54 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. I love that purple striped polka dot – very very me!!

  8. Cotton and steel is everywhere you are right! But for good reason, the blenders! Glad you got to add to your collection.

    • There can never be enough fab blenders in the world… and I do love this lot. Thank you for visiting πŸ™‚ -Sam

      On Mon, Jul 21, 2014 at 4:33 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  9. Pingback: Tula Tuesday: Blocks 56-58 | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

