Tula Tuesday: Blocks 54 & 55

I’m back from a quick but super fun mini vacation up to the mountains. I always feel like, if you can drive there in under 2 hours, is it really a vacation? But it truly was- we had a blast and did all sorts of fun things. And then I came home to all the laundry in the world, and enough time to squeak out THE FINAL TWO TRIANGLE BLOCKS!!!!!!!!!!!

IMG_0502

Block 54: worked in some more pink, go me! The colors look kind of easter eggy-esque, they’re so darn bright. But I actually really like it!

IMG_0512 IMG_0532

Block 55: maybe I shouldn’t have tried sewing after the trip? This is the wonkiest block to date, and it’s just 9 pairs of HSTs, so really, not tooooo hard. Except clearly it was for me.

IMG_0513 IMG_0531

Let’s just pretend it’s straight, ok?

I am so happy to be done with triangles. The next round of blocks looks wonderful to me. I’m grateful that the triangles were all in the middle, and not at the very end… that would have been challenging.

Last night I had my Tula Ladies over for show and tell (and snacks and drinks). We were having so much fun that I forgot to take any photos of everyone’s blocks! D’oh. We’re all close to the same point, and it once again was so much fun to see how everyone’s blocks look. The fabric choices change everything! I’ll have to remember to get photos next time. And have someone else host- I can’t cook to save my life, and I can’t even cook frozen food, as it turned out last night. Sigh.

Here’s where I’m at so far:

tula blocks 1 thru 25 city sampler blocks 26-50 14475559420_a0ced13d77_o

Do you have any Tula blocks you’d like to share? Link up here:

And I’m linking up at Sew Cute TuesdayWIP Wednesday, and Let’s Bee Social… See you there!

16 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL, WIP Wednesday

16 responses to “Tula Tuesday: Blocks 54 & 55

  1. ellen

    I love the fabrics and I loved the frozen food and great company. 🙂

  2. Kristin A

    AMEN Ellen!

  3. It’s look great so far Sam! I can’t wait to see how you put it all together and decide to quilt it.

  4. I love your blocks! I think the wonkiness might disappear in the piecing of the rows, right? The colors you are choosing look beautiful together. And I just love all of your blocks lined up in that last photo! I can’t wait to see what more you make.

    • I am very hopeful that the wonkiness can be controlled when I choose a setting at the end. And I have chosen to not square up blocks until thy’re all done… so hopefully I can make them all much nicer at the end. Thanks for coming by! -Sam

      On Wed, Jul 16, 2014 at 8:06 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. Wow! I love these blocks – and there’s nothing wrong with a bit of wonkiness now and then 🙂
    LPC

  6. Oh I am loving the fabric in these… your blocks look amazing together. It is a very very impressive collection you have.

    • yikes! somehow I missed comments last week 😦 Thank you! I am happy with this batch- and really enjoying post triangle life! -Sam

      On Wed, Jul 16, 2014 at 6:20 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Glad to hear you had a fun trip, Sam. Your final triangle blocks are sew pretty! Love the pink… I like bright! How fun that you had the girls over for a get together… Must have been a blast!

    • replying to comments and just realized I missed this last week 😦 It is so much fun to hang out with my Tula girls and see what everyone is doing. We’ve kept one another on track so far!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Jul 16, 2014 at 7:43 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

