Daenerys Sails Away

I’ve been busy showing off loads of quilting projects here on the blog, and so you might not believe it, but I’ve had a productive knitting year, too… I just finished my 2nd and 3rd pairs of Cookie A 2014 Sock Club socks. And I love them. Want to see?

Like you have a choice…

April 2014- Daenerys.

14372412797_ec93a842cb_z

Both April patterns were inspired by Game of Thrones, which made me happy. I chose Daenerys, as the pattern was truly lovely. Intertwined cables that proceeded all the way to the toe. The only down side to the pattern is that I ended up with quite a bit of laddering where the needles met. I tried to correct for it, but didn’t have a ton of success. I’m hoping that with wear it won’t be as obvious. I didn’t move super fast on these- they took me an entire month- because I was also working on a shawl for my mom for Mother’s day. (I have no good pics of that, but it came out wonderfully…)

The April club yarn was cephalopod yarns skinny bugga in color way Tyrian Mollusk. Mine was redder than I expected from the pattern, where it had more of a purple tint. The yarn is soft and was great to work with, but, I was disappointed in the dye. It didn’t seem to have seeped all the way into the fibers- I split the yarn by accident a few times, and it was white inside… Still, the socks are lovely.

June 2013- Sail Away

14557207434_fd88af2faa_z

I LOVE these socks. These are officially the fastest pair of socks I have ever made. Under 2 weeks from winding the yarn to binding off the final toe. The pattern is wonderful, meant to look like sailboat sails blowing in the wind. It was very very easy to memorize- the exact opposite of Daenerys’ cables.

The one problem? I ran out of yarn. The club yarn this time was Sunshine Yarns Classic Sock Yarn- from here in Colorado!- in Out to Sea. The yarn is only 370 yards to a skein, a bit shorter than most sock yarn skeins. I made my socks in size L, and ran out of yarn at the end of the 2nd toe.

IMG_0121

I started to panic about there… I didn’t think I would have enough left to finish, but I plowed on. Sadly, I was right. I ran out right before the final toe rounds. My long tail cast on had left a fairly long tail, so I stole that little bit to eke out an extra row. One sock is 2 rows shorter than the other 😦 I doubt anyone will ever know, but it made me sad.

The next club yarn shipment will be in August. Until then, I’ve got a Hitchhiker shawl on my needles, just past the halfway point.

IMG_9568

And up next, I think I’ll make the Drogon socks from the April 2014 Cookie A packet, in some lovely STR that I’ve had stashed for 4+ years…

Anything fun on your needles?

11 Comments

Filed under CookieA, Knitting, Socks

11 responses to “Daenerys Sails Away

  1. ellen

    Yay! I love your socks. I have nothing on my needles, but I love to see what you create. Those shawls are beautiful.

    • I’ll turn you into a knitter yet. Or maybe not, as then you wouldn’t give me yarn you get in swag bags 😉 -Sam

      On Tue, Jul 8, 2014 at 8:11 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. Running out of yarn is the worst! I don’t think anyone will ever notice that one sock is slightly shorter than the other. Great pattern!

    • Running out of yarn IS the worst. It’s only happened to me a few times, but it makes me sad AND grumpy!

      -Sam

      On Tue, Jul 8, 2014 at 10:11 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. They’re gorgeous! Great work Sam! I’m just learning how to knit. Hopefully I can get something up on the blog soon.

    • I’m looking forward to seeing your knitting! -Sam

      On Tue, Jul 8, 2014 at 1:39 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

      • They’re actually almost ready. I made one scarf from a pattern and one that was an alteration on the original. I just need to block them. Then wait until the lovely scab on my chin (acquired from being whacked in the face by a horse) clears up to photograph them, because I’m able to work out how to make the scarf look like much without it being worn.

      • LOL, I have a HUGE bruise on my ankle from a horse (see the today’s blog post…) Rich’s horse got too close to mine, and dug a stirrup into my leg w all it’s weight. OWWWWWW…

        When you’re healed, I look forward to seeing them!

        -Sam

        On Wed, Jul 16, 2014 at 3:07 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

        >

      • I hope you heal up quickly! It would be nice if horses were a little more in tune to our relative delicacy.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

