Sunday Stash: the Fancy Tiger Party edition

I’ve been trying very diligently to NOT buy fabric or yarn. Primarily for budgetary reasons, but also because after moving everything to the new sewing room, and refolding it, and being able to see it ALL, I truly know I don’t need any more. Perhaps ever, but at least for the foreseeable future…

And yet. Designers keep making pretty new fabrics. Amazing new shades of yarn show up on the shelves. And I lose my resolve. Especially when Fancy Tiger is having their annual Anniversary Party. For the first time in years, I was NOT camped out in front of the store hours before opening to score one of the famous swag bags- we made a decision as a family to go to the Renaissance Festival- and I didn’t realize the date confusion- and I wasn’t about to tell the kids “oh, sorry, mom needs to go shopping…” And it was a good choice, and we had a blast!

IMG_9692

It was a cub-ray-zee day- after spending all day at the festival, we had to get Annie back to theater camp for her final performance of A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum… we dropped her off, and had time to sneak over to Fancy Tiger before the show! So, no swag bag, but I did do a bit of shopping…

IMG_9717

With every purchase of $20 or more, you got your pick of a custom knitting or sewing kit. After examining the contents, I went with knitting. I later realized that had I made Rich buy part of my haul, I could have had one of each. Ah, well…

I came away with the knitting kit and a wonderful new FT t-shirt. Their shirts are always adorable, and super duper soft. There was also a new skein of yarn:

IMG_9736

The Manos Del Uruguay Alegria is some of the softest yarn ever- even softer than Malabrigo. And the neon of this skein makes me smile so much. I think it might become a Westknits Spectra, with black as the solid. Cheerful for gloomy winter days…

And of course, there was also fabric. You’ve seen two pieces of it already, in my last batch of Tula blocks.

IMG_9738 IMG_9739

Michael Miller Neo Dots in grey w hot pink (I want it in a lllll the color ways now) and also Lizzy House Pearl

Bracelets in tonal purple… Another one I’d love to have in a llllll the colors.

And the last piece of fabric? Henry actually found it for me!

IMG_9741

Isn’t it hysterical? It’s part of this collection by Windham. I never make bags, but this is screaming to become one, don’t you think?

Then we just had enough time to race back to the theater to watch Annie as Vibrata, the courtesan.

DSC_6409

(She’s the one with the yellow sash…)

What a day!

Linking up with Sunday Stash to see what you’ve all been buying…

 

14 Comments

Filed under Kids, Stash Enhancement, Sunday Stash

14 responses to “Sunday Stash: the Fancy Tiger Party edition

  1. Oh my goodness, the quilt girl fabric is fabulous! I love the rotary cutter in her hand! What a find!

    • Thank goodness my son saw it! I wasn’t even looking in that section of the store, as my novelty fabric stash is already out of hand! But this one is awesome…

      -Sam

      On Sun, Jul 6, 2014 at 11:52 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. Good job, Henry…that’s awesome fabric!

  3. That quilt girl fabric is great! As is the rest of your haul 🙂

  4. Carolyn Whitr

    I identify with your “have enough swatches and fabric I don’t need to buy more” thoughts, but. . I did buy a set of 4 quarter yd combo and have used them in my Beyond the Block squares and now I’m running out of 2 of the pieces, so. . . back to the fabric store I have been avoiding going to until the Central Florida Shop Hop later in the month. . . happy sewing, quilting, and knitting.

  5. I was tempted to go to Fancy Tiger too, if only for the shirt. The hour drive from Springs is pretty prohibitive I guess- I can’t imagine living closer. We were at the Renaissance Fair too and I have the sunburn to prove it. Lovely yarn and fabric choices!

    • Hope you had fun while getting that sunburn at the RenFair 🙂

      It’s much safer for me now that Fancy Tiger is not halfway between work and home, but rather way out of my way on my commute. Phew.

      -Sam

      On Mon, Jul 7, 2014 at 9:07 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. That sounds like a cool day! I need to clean up my sewing space to find out those fabrics buried in mess 😉

    • It’s amazing what fabrics turn up when you clean- both treasures AND stuff you can’t believe you ever actually bought on purpose… -Sam

      On Tue, Jul 8, 2014 at 1:36 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Ooooh that rainbow yarn is so pretty

    • I so didn’t need it, and yet, it called to me, loudly, and I couldn’t resist. It’s next in line to be used. -Sam

      On Tue, Jul 8, 2014 at 11:25 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

