Still Trippin’

Back in May, I started making some Scrappy Tripalong blocks. Because I’m nothing if not late to the party. (See also: my catvent, my plus quilt.) I’m not feeling rushed to get them done. I realized they’d become my backup project- ready to go when I’m between other projects, or not able to pay tons of attention (they are pretty simple blocks to make…) I thought my pile of leftover scraps from my Modern Cross quilt was huge, but in fact I had barely gotten started when I ran out of green strips, and then blue ones.

That’s where I left you… 11 blocks, and in need of more strips. So, I spent a few nights watching True Detective while pulling apart my stash for blues, greens, and purples to cut into strips.
IMG_8687

When I had a huge pile good and ready to go, I got back to making blocks.

IMG_8689

I picking the fabrics for each one of these to be so much fun. Each one is a complete story all by itself, and then they end up all jumbled together.

IMG_9556
And they tell an even bigger story. There are pieces of so many previous projects in these blocks. So many fabric based memories. And some things to make you laugh, too…

Like this one.

IMG_9544 IMG_9549Years and years ago, I got THAT fabric at a quilting expo. I got two FQs, one in purple and one in white. I have had so much fun sneaking them into projects over the years. Because apparently I have the sense of humor of a 10 year old boy… Hee hee hee.

I’m up to 30 blocks now. It seems like it should be more, but that’s it. I have decided to make this a queen+ quilt, to top our bed. So that means I need 70 more of these. Yikes! At least I’ve gotten far enough that I can start to play with layout ideas.

Like this.

IMG_9557

And there are so very many other layouts that could be possible. Good thing I have 70 blocks and probably many months to go before I have to decide on one…

Linking up with WIP Wednesday and Let’s Bee Social.

27 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Scrappy Trip Along, WIP Wednesday

27 responses to “Still Trippin’

  1. A lovely way to use up scraps of fabric – very colourful and full of meaning for you. However you decided to join the blocks together it will look great.

    • I was very surprised at how quickly i went through the actual leftover bits!

      Thanks for visiting πŸ™‚

      -sam

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 6:41 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. Beautiful color palette! I never think to use purple in my quilts but your purple scrappy trip is stunning – I love it!

  3. I absolutely love the colours and scrappiness of this quilt top! That print is hilarious, I actually laughed out loud – I never would have imagined quilting fabrics with that motif! πŸ™‚

    • I *think* the store selling it printed it themselves. I recall a ton of very unique FQs in all shades of the rainbow… Wish i still knew their name!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 7:08 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. I LOVE THESE! More, please!

    (I feel like all of my comments on your blog must sound exactly the same. “I love this!” “I love all the colors!” “I want to make this exact thing!” But it’s all totally for realz, haha!)

  5. So beautiful! My favorite trip quilts have one color running through it like your white. Which layout will you choose?

    • I was fairly certain that I would go with the layout in the first photo, but then I was playing on Pinterest, and saw some other ideas, and now, I have NO idea! LOL… -Sam

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 7:27 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. Ann

    What fun to recognize some fabrics I have myself! You’ve done a wonderful job combining them!

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ It’s always fun to play with what feels like your entire stash in one quilt…

      -Sam

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 10:13 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Love that purple fabric…Yep that one…:)))
    I made a “Scrappy Trip” last winter, it was a lot of fun to make.
    Yours is gorgeous!! And love the colors you picked!:)

    • “That” fabric is fun, isn’t it? The scrappy trip blocks are a bit addictive.

      Thanks for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 10:28 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  8. Liz

    It’s a fun and relatively quick block to make. My favorite part was playing with the layouts when I made mine! Yours looks great!

    • I think my brain may melt down when it’s time to pick a final layout. I always stress over that final step…

      -Sam

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 11:59 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  9. Anne Simonot

    Oh one of my favourite patterns! Yours is lovely, even though I’m not usually a fan if purple!

  10. Still trippin’ …. Indeed! You are such a hoot! Thank you so much for a long overdue laugh, Sam. The blocks are looking great. This is a great idea to work on this between projects. I need to do something like this!

  11. 70 more?! You’re crazy! But it’s going to look so good!

    • 70 more gets me to a lovely bed sized quilt… we’ve been using the same 2 tops on our bed for years now, and I’m ready for some major changes…

      -Sam

      On Fri, Jun 27, 2014 at 2:35 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  12. This is going to be fabulous. Love the colours!

  13. Hahaha! I am so relieved to find I’m not the only grown woman with a little-boy’s sense of humor. My husband teases me about it regularly! πŸ™‚

  14. Killing myself laughing at *that* fabric – I’m not usually a great fan of novelty fabrics, but I’d be sneaking that one into just about everything I made, especially if it was for my mother (or anyone else I could embarrass!!!), haha! Love both your layouts, but possibly just erring on the side of the first one – good luck with the decision!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

