Here, Kitty Kitty…

So, summer has been flying by for me. Not only did a Tuesday get by me with no Tula blocks, I also totally forgot to officially pick a project for A Lovely Year of Finishes. D’oh. Because, really, I only forgot to post- I had the project all picked out. Remember my Catvent quilt, Meow Mix? It was intended as a wedding gift, for a wedding in June. Yeah, I bet you know where this is going, right? I missed my deadline. To be fair, the wedding was June 2nd. I totally should have thought of it as a May deadline and then all would have been well. Sigh.

IMG_9444

Anyway! The Meow Mix top was totally done, just waiting to be quilted. I finally got around to it this past week. I stayed simple, and inspired by the original– why mess with something so lovely?Β A simple crosshatch pattern, though not as tight as the original.

IMG_9453

I think it works well. I extended the lines into the border, which helped to make it disappear- an effect I really like on this piece.

IMG_9448

The piece is so small, I used one piece of fabric for the back. I went back and forth- use a themed print, or pick up a color the brides like best from the front? In the end, I saw this fun print on sale, and couldn’t resist.

IMG_9458

IMG_9455

Cute, right? And the print dictated the binding color- perfect for the back, works on the front, too…

IMG_9452

Oh, and when I picked up the backing and binding fabrics, I splurged on some of the Clover Wonder Clips (which were on sale for 50% off!) I’ve heard so much about. Totally worth it! I love them! The held so well, and were faster to putΒ on and take off than the old school clips I used for years. What other new fangled notions are out there that could be making my life easier? Tell me about your faves…

IMG_9431

 

I have to say, I’m really happy with how this one turned out. It met my original vision, which doesn’t always happen. It’s super ME- fabrics and colors and patterns that I love- and at the same time, I think it will please the newlyweds. I’m less than 3 weeks late, which is not bad, for me. It is such a great feeling to finish a gift, and be pleased with it. I can’t wait to gift it-hopefully soon! We’re setting up a time so I can pass it on in person.

Linking up with TGIFF, Finish It Up Friday, and Fabric Frenzy Friday.

35 Comments

Filed under Finish It Up Friday, Gift, Quilts

35 responses to “Here, Kitty Kitty…

  1. Oh I really love this one. The front is gorgeous and that backing fabric is such fun!

    • i am very happy with this one- it’s rare that I feel as content with a finish as I do this time… -Sam

      On Thu, Jun 19, 2014 at 8:11 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. EEP! I love this! Everything about it! It’s just so happy and friendly and wonderful!

  3. The backing fabric is so fabulous! Lovely!

    • I almost hate to admit it, but I found the backing fabric by pure chance at, of all places, JoAnns, when i was icking up some notions… -Sam

      On Thu, Jun 19, 2014 at 11:53 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. So cute. And I love your saturated kitties! Great finish.

    • “Saturated”- i like that πŸ™‚ I think I should call myself a saturated quilter! thank you for visiting! -Sam

      On Fri, Jun 20, 2014 at 7:36 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. I’m sure that the newlyweds won’t mind you being a little late. It’s worth it for something so amazing.

    • aw, thank you πŸ™‚ They had a private destination wedding, so I imagine gifts will trickle in for ages… Maybe I won’t even be last! -Sam

      On Fri, Jun 20, 2014 at 7:42 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. Yay for a great finish! So happy and cheerful. Very cute backing too! Congrats!

  7. Oh, yummy yummy colors! Perfect!

  8. AH! So cute! Suddenly I want to learn how to quilt. My cat obsession totally has nothing to do with this…

    • LOL πŸ™‚ Glad to be an inspiration πŸ˜‰ these cats are actually really easy to make, and so much fun! Maybe a good starting point?

      -Sam

      On Fri, Jun 20, 2014 at 11:32 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  9. This is such a cutie! Those colors are fantastic.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I went with rainbow as a) it looked great in the original and b) I was sure to get SOME of the couple’s fave colors in it that way…

      -Sam

      On Fri, Jun 20, 2014 at 2:09 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  10. Cute quilt!! The backing is cute too! You are not late! Creativity takes time, that’s all πŸ™‚

    -Soma

    • thank you- and yes, creativity DOES take time. (But i still wish I had bothered to check WHEN in June the actual wedding was to be πŸ˜‰ Ah, well…)

      -Sam

      On Fri, Jun 20, 2014 at 2:36 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  11. Very cute kitty kwilt. Stopping by from FFF linky.

  12. Wonderful finish, Sam! The quilting is perfect… And I adore that cute backing and complimentary binding fabric you chose. Great job!

  13. Kat

    Cute, cute! I love kitties!

  14. It’s just gorgeous! So striking! Congrats on getting it done. I’m terrible with deadlines too. Love those clover clips. I haven’t used anything else, so I’ll have to ask my quilting circle next time we meet what the “old school” clips were like.

  15. Ridiculously cute backing. Such a great finish it does not matter if it was a little late.

    • I’m glad you like the backing πŸ™‚ I was a bit worried i was being too literal, but it is sooo cute… -Sam

      On Sun, Jun 22, 2014 at 9:39 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  16. Connie Campbell

    What a precious quilt and that backing fabric……awesome!

  17. Pingback: Still Trippin’ | Diary of a Madfabriholic

  18. I’m not even very partial to cats but wow this looks great! Such a fun color gradation. The grey background and quilting are great.

    • p.s. you’re probably doing them a favor to hav it ready now vs at the wedding. There’s just too much going on during those things to really appreciate presents. You’re just thinking of their well being and happiness πŸ™‚

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

