Tula Tuesday: 41-44

School’s only been out for a week, and I’m already behind on blogging! Ooops… I took an unintended week off from the blog because, well, summer. Baseball games for Henry, Dumb Friends League Camp for Annie, a new cat for my mom, a 5 day weekend for me, and oh yeah, my husband’s birthday in the middle of it all!

I didn’t have any Tula progress last week as I was racing to complete that special HST quilt- and it was mailed off over the weekend, so I’m back.

20140610-091602-33362128.jpg

Blocks 41-44- more triangles. Ugh. If I ever want to be reminded that I am NOT an accurate piecer, these blocks should do it…

IMG_9240 IMG_9269

Block 41 was an excuse to use that wonderful Lizzy House Constellations print I finally found a few weeks ago. I threw in a shot cotton and my AMH feature fabric, and, ta-da. I really like this one.

IMG_9241 IMG_9268Block 42: I went back to one of the prints from the Nightshade line, and I am so happy that I managed to get one of the skulls right in the center 🙂 Then some purple solids from stash, and again, ta-da. No complaints about this one.

IMG_9243 IMG_9265

Block 43 and I had issues. This is the 2nd one I made. My first version was wonderful, I loved the fabrics, and then, I walked across the room. And the chevrons totally blended into one another and looked like a blob. Boo. Back to the drawing board (aka stash) and I started again with MUCH greater value differences. I’m much happier with take 2.

IMG_9244 IMG_9264

Block 44: simple and sweet, and makes me smile. Nuff said.

So here’s what I’ve got done to date:

tula blocks 1 thru 25 mosaic4dc94ed1e6a244de002fdfccb4d5e13588821127

Not bad. I am so close to the halfway point that I can almost taste it! Also, nearly as close to the end of the triangle section. And THAT will be cause for a par-tay!

Do you have any Tula projects to share? If so, link up below…

I’m linking up to Sew Cute Tuesday, WIP Wednesday, and Let’s Bee Social.

19 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL, WIP Wednesday

19 responses to “Tula Tuesday: 41-44

  1. It’s looking fabulous!

  2. Oh wow!!! They look great together. I love your color palette!!

  3. I am just loving these blocks! Its so fun to see your progress!

  4. Love the blocks and your piecing looks wonderful! The blocks look so great together!

    -Soma

    • Thank you 🙂 I think I will find some sad surprises in my piecing when I go to assemble the top. Hopefully everything will be near enough to 6.5” inches at the end!

      -S

  5. Nice progress! Are you planning to assemble the quilt in order or mixing the blocks up?

  6. stephanieboon

    Your piecing looks pretty great to me! Lovely colours too 🙂

  7. I’ve been wondering what had happened to you. The blocks look great!

    • I seem to not be finding computer time now that summer has hit… Hence the comment replying DAYS late 😦 Still finding sewing time, just not typing time… -Sam

      • I’ve been having a little of the same problem. Well, actually, not time for either at this precise moment as I’m cleaning out the spare room to make a sewing studio. Was going to wait until we got our own place (hopefully in the fall) but finally cracked it at having three by five feet of space in which to quilt, and no way to move around the table. Of course it’s become a giant hassle, but I’ll explain it all in a blog post once I’m done.

        – Jane

  8. the more blocks being added the more and more I like the colour scheme!

  9. Great blocks, Sam! My fave is #42. Looks great to see them all together. Half way? Congratulations!!!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

