In a Bind

I realized later that maybe this was bad karma for a baby quilt, but, I spent Sunday holed up in my studio, watching the Rosemary’s Baby remake (if you care, I only found it to be eh) and working on my jungle boogie quilt. Hopefully the dark subject matter didn’t seep into the project…

IMG_8619

First off, my least favorite, basting. Can I just say that after packing tape, the iPad is my favorite basting invention? I have to use my living room floor to baste, and with the iPad, I can stream entertainment while I work. Then I can pick it up, and take it to the studio, and keep watching while I quilt! (Usually my choices are marginally better than the Rosemary’s Baby remake.)

IMG_8659 IMG_8661

I quilted it with a simple cross hatch design- I love it because there’s no need to mark the top- and it worked well with this pattern. I happened to have a spool of medium green thread sitting around, so, by default, that’s what I used. That way I didn’t need to make a trip to the store before I got started. On the black and dark green fabrics, it’s ever so slightly brighter than I would have liked, but it blends with the rest nicely. And it disappears into the back.

IMG_8664 IMG_8669

My middle stripe isn’t lined up as perfectly as I would have liked- I thought I had it centered during basting, but not quite. I still think it works.

And now comes the big decision:

binding.

What would you choose? I have enough of the solid kona green, the black batik with silver squares, both the giraffe and leopard prints, and also the olive green chevron-ish stripe. OR, I had originally thought maybe a bright blue solid, to pick up the blues in the parrots. Would aΒ blue be too much, or just fun? Or, do you have a totally different idea? Please, let me know. Β I won’t have time to work on the binding before Sunday, but I am hoping to get it all done then.

Linking up with Needle and Thread Thursday,Β  WIP Wednesday and Let’s Bee Social

18 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Gift, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

18 responses to “In a Bind

  1. My vote is for the leopard spots, Sam! That would look awesome! Nice job on the quilting. What a fabulous plus quilt!

    • Thank you for your vote, Lorna πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to get this done and off to its new home…

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 21, 2014 at 7:21 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. Really like how the top turned out. What if you try out yellow or orange for the binding. There are a lot of warm tones in the front of your quilt.

    • Sadly, I don’t have any pieces of yellow or orange big enough for the binding- they’re the weakest parts of my stash, along with brown…

      😦

      Thank you for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 21, 2014 at 7:26 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. JoanG

    I vote for leopard spots. Why not make the edges of your quilt as happy as the middle of the quilt is?

  4. Wonderful quilt!! A print for the binding would look really good – compliment the solids around the edge πŸ™‚ Beautifully done!

    • I admit I was a bit worried that a print all around the edge would be too busy, but maybe it’s just what this needs…

      Thanks for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 21, 2014 at 8:30 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. I like how the crosshatch echoes the pluses but with the angle, it adds nice interest. Have you considered a scrappy binding? Maybe half green and half leopard spots?

    • Thank- I was hoping the cross hatch would have that effect πŸ™‚ Simple but elegant, and slightly calming for such a loud top…

      Scrappy might be too much for such a bust top, but I like the idea of two-tone! Thanks!

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 21, 2014 at 9:14 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. As we say : in doubt add red! This quilt is wonderful for a baby, so joyful and interesting!

    • I wish I had enough of the right red/reddish orange to do that 😦 It would be great!

      Thank you for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 21, 2014 at 10:29 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. I would say the orange but you don’t have that as option. Definitely something bright or lighter like the leopard print. Bad karma quilt, ha ha, that one was funny!

    • LOL, I realized later a show about an evil baby might not work with a baby quilt, sigh. silly me!

      I wish I had an orange or yellow left- lots of people like the leopard idea, and it is a warm tone…

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 21, 2014 at 11:23 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  8. Oooh, that’s a toughie. I like the idea of a yellow or warm color. But I could also dig black. I’m not sure you can really go wrong with this one! πŸ™‚

    • So, you’re the only one who has said black, but you and I think a LOT alike when it comes to color. Hmmm…

      πŸ™‚

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 21, 2014 at 11:28 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  9. I vote for leopard spots, or scrappy binding for the quilt. And it came out lovely, even if you did watch Rosemary’s baby while you were working on it. πŸ™‚

  10. I’m writing before reading comments so that I am not swayed. I’m thinking the kona green. I lean toward the plainest, darkest fabric that you have enough of. I think a print binding would be distracting. Now to see what others have said. ( I agree, not blue.)

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

