Pillowcases: The Final Frontier

Do you remember a Sunday Stash way way back (okay, just back in March…I’m a drama queen) when I showed you some fabulous nerdy novelties?

20140516-100847.jpg

I *finally* busted out the Star Trek fabrics for their intended purpose, to make pillowcases for Henry. He’s now got a super nerdy bed, what with the Trek pillowcases and the Minecraft blanket

20140516-094120.jpg

 

20140516-094108.jpg

I think he likes them…

Meanwhile, my husband REALLY liked the fabrics. I don’t really want Star Trek on our bed, so I came up with another idea. I’ve long wanted to make place mats for the entire fam a la this blog post by Weeks Ringle. But then I thought, wouldn’t it be fun to have the kids help pick their own fabrics and sew their own slabs? (Thank you, Cheryl, for that term and technique!) And lord knows, we have enough bits of leftover novelty fabrics to make that very wild and fun. So Rich can have a Star Trek place mat, and our bed can stay matchy matchy, so, win win, right? Maybe we’ll even start that this weekend.

Linking up with Finish It Up Friday, TGIFF, and Fabric Frenzy Friday

 

12 Comments

Filed under Finish It Up Friday, Henry, Sewing (not quilting!)

12 responses to “Pillowcases: The Final Frontier

  1. ellen

    Geek heaven! Love it. 🙂

  2. What a cute idea! They’ll never complain about setting the table. I have a bunch of fangirls in my house who would love some star wars/lego/harry potter place mats!

    • I HOPE it will eliminate table setting complaints! We shall see… Sounds like your fangirls and my kiddos would get along well…

      -Sam

      On Fri, May 16, 2014 at 11:44 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. These are fabulous! I made our family placemats a couple of years ago, and it was fun to pick out different fabrics for each family member. We don’t use them often as they’re supposed to be for fancy occasions, but I really should make some new ones for everyday use. Maybe I’ll have the boys help me? That should be…chaotic. 🙂

    • We desperately need everyday placemats. My family is very very messy. I hate changing out tablecloths all the time, so this will be my solution. I plan to make 2 for everyone- so 10 total (including my mom…)

      -Sam

      On Fri, May 16, 2014 at 1:25 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. Nancy W.

    love the idea for the placemat

  5. My husband was just watching old episodes of Star Trek today, so I smiled when I saw your post on FWFS. And I love the place mat idea – thanks for sharing the link, Sam!

    • It’s such a simple idea- that link has been hanging out in the back of my brain forever. Glad you like it- and I hope your husband was enjoying the show 🙂 Original star trek always makes me smile.

      -Sam

      On Fri, May 16, 2014 at 3:49 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. With that smile, I think he does like them! Sweet!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

