Jungle Boogie

Not a very original name, I know. Suggestions welcome!

I took advantage of a snowy Mother’s Day, and then a snowy Monday home from work with a sick kid, to get cracking on my new baby quilt.

IMG_8557 IMG_8559 IMG_8561

The Modern Plus tutorial by Jeni at In Color Order is wonderful. The hardest part was deciding on layout. I went back and forth a few times, removed one fabric, added another, etc, and ended up with this:

IMG_8592

It’s more orange than I intended, which is funny, since the orange section of my stash is TINY. (And tinier after this, lol.) I love the mix of fabrics- novelties that I bought maybe 10 years ago, batiks, kaffe stripes, modern prints from the likes of Joel Dewberry, Denyse Schmidt, and more… I’m pushing myself to fall back in love with my (huge) stash. I’ve been tempted away by all modern prints, all the time, but in my heart I know that you can still have fun with other fabrics. They seem to play nicely together 😉

I even got the back done. I *think* I could have gotten away with a solid back- I had enough of the jungle print left to pull it off. But I decided to use the leftover squares from the front and liven it up a tiny little bit.

IMG_8595

I’m hoping to get it basted and start quilting this weekend!

And then I’ll be back to ask for binding suggestions…

Meanwhile, linking up with WIP Wednesday and Let’s Bee Social.

19 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Gift, Quilts, WIP Wednesday, Year of Lovely Finishes

19 responses to “Jungle Boogie

  1. Nice quilt. I recently finished a different Plus pattern. I want to do this one in the near future too. Baby size. Thanks for sharing.

    • I would like to do another one with 2.5″ squares instead of 4.5″. Maybe for my next baby quilt? I’m sure someone I know will need one sooner or later…

      Thank you for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 14, 2014 at 7:08 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. Snow 😦
    I love the look of the crosses in the pattern.

  3. I love it. The amount of orange and the color balance is perfect.

    • Oh, thank you- I was worried it was a bit overpowered by the orange. I’m counting on the binding to help me out with that. and also the lack of snow to let me get photos in natural light…

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 14, 2014 at 9:44 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. Wow, I love the colours and plus design! I’d like to try a plus quilt one day 🙂

    • The plus quilt is kind of addictive! I could see making more- and also trying it with different sized squares…

      Thank you for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 14, 2014 at 10:05 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. You created pretty cool combo and snowy? Really? Isn’t that a typo, lol.

    • Sadly, not a typo. This was not our latest snow ever in Denver, not by a long shot, but the latest in a while at least… The nice thing about our weather is that it warms up and melts away so quickly. They say we have 300 days of sunshine every year…

      🙂

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 14, 2014 at 10:52 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. That’s one wild quilt! I swear if people don’t stop blogging about those lovely plus quilts, I may just give in and make one! 🙂

  7. Oh no! Not Snowy! I’m very sorry. 😉 I like how the back fabric is featured on the front.

  8. sdaurio

    I love your plus quilt. I’ve had this on my list for so long. I almost had one in solids but I couldn’t get past the layout. I do like your prints and colors. So pretty.

  9. I still a think a blue binding 😀 I think it will go really well because of the orange in the quilt.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

