Tripping Out

For ages and ages and ages, as I cut 2″ strips for my Epic Modern Crosses quilt, I put aside the leftover bits thinking, I’ll have to find just the right project for these guys. They were all my favorite colors and fabrics, with so many fun little bits thrown in.

And then a while back (early 2013?), there was a big trend in quilty blog-land to make Scrappy Trip Around the World blocks. I mean, they were EVERYWHERE. They had their own hashtag- #scrappytripalong. I loved them, but I wasn’t in a quilty place just then. And then I realized that I could adapt the 2.5″ strips to 2″ strips with no effort, and use that fabulous pile of leftovers.

IMG_8356

But I made myself wait until I finished the Epic top…

Which means… time to make my own Scrappy Trip!

IMG_8350 IMG_8479 IMG_8477

(In case you haven’t made these blocks yet yourself, and you want some great tips, visit i’m a ginger monkey…)

I’ve spent the last few nights blissfully sewing strips into tubes, slicing them up, and sewing them back together. What seemed like a HUGE pile of leftover strips vanished so much more quickly than I anticipated! A few strips were too short and had to go back to the scrap heap. Out of the ones that were left, I had the most purple, which made total sense, as I had twice as many purple blocks in the Epic Modern Cross quilt as blue and green. But I was surprised that I had way more blue than green leftovers- and I made the same number of blue and green blocks. The only thing that I can think is that I used more green fat quarters than yardage, and so, not as many long strips left?

Who knows…

IMG_8362

I’m sort of being truly scrappy, with a small plan. Each block has one white strip in the center. Then, each block has 2 purple strips, and they alternate between 1 blue, 2 greens or 2 blues, 1 green. So I guess not truly scrappy at all? I’m bad at scrappy. I made blocks until I ran out of green, and here’s where I ended up:

IMG_8483

11 blocks.

I thought my scraps would go further.

Which means I need to make a choice. I really love this pattern, and I’d really like to make it bed size. Which means maybe 100 blocks total, or less if I did a border. And I just finished that massive massive quilt top for my bed. Am I ready to commit to nearly 90 more blocks, and another giant project?

I *think* I am.

I had meant this to be my A Lovely Year of Finishes project, and have all my blocks done by the end of the month, but that was before I realized how BIG this project would be. So what’s a girl to do?

Linking up with WIP WednesdayΒ and Let’s Bee Social.

28 Comments

Filed under Quilts, WIP Wednesday

28 responses to “Tripping Out

  1. Gorgeous!! I love the pattern and the fabrics both! πŸ™‚

  2. The pattern and fabrics look great. It would also look great as a table topper or smaller snuggle quilt if you want a quicker project.

  3. Oooh, I like this. I find I tend to prefer the not as scrappy STAL quilts, so this is right up my alley! πŸ™‚

  4. Liz

    Love it! I’m just finishing my scrappy trip pattern quilt up…hoping to baste it this week. It may seem daunting, but those strips and blocks come together before you know it!

  5. It’s coming along nicely!!

    What about joining a bee and having this as your block? That way you could cheat a little and have others make some for you! But the downside would be the blocks might end up slightly different sizes and not line up. Or you could slways add a border to size it up??

    • I think a wide white border might end up being gorgeous on this one, something I’ve never tried before…

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 7, 2014 at 8:41 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. Very nice – the white is perfect for tying it all together. Mayby a fabrisc scrap swap might help generate more scraps to work with?

    • Hi Ruth! The sad, honest truth is that I don’t need any scraps to finish this quilt. I may be out of the leftover strips fromthat one project, but I’m still up to my ears in fabric.

      After moving all my fabric and refolding it over the last few weeks, I could probably even say I never need another new piece again. But, oh, that sounds horrid! I have already pulled greens off my shelves and started cutting new green strips, next comes blue and then purple.

      I may have to put a call out for a deep blue swap, as my daughter has her heart set on a scrappy Tardis quilt, and we just don’t have much of that particular blue on hand. If only the Tardis was purple!

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 7, 2014 at 9:43 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Your blocks look fabulous! This is a great pattern…you should go for it! I have recently discovered that it is kind of fun to have a little side project where I can make a few blocks when the mood hits me. Love the fabric swap idea from another poster!

    • Hi Kathy! Side projects ARE wonderful (I’m doing that with my 10 Tula blocks a month this year, and really enjoying it!) I’m liking this one so much that I might not have the willpower NOT to do it all at once!

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 7, 2014 at 10:31 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  8. I love this block and your colour choices… let me know if you need some scraps… I have tons and tons and tons.

    • Thanks, Cath! I bet your scraps are right up my alley, color wise πŸ˜‰ I think I’ll be good on this project, as my piles of purple, blue, and green seem to grow as I use them rather than shrink.

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 7, 2014 at 11:40 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  9. oh yes, somehow make it bed sized!! It’s so cool I want to make one too.
    LeeAnna
    Not Afraid of Color! lapaylor.blogspot.com

  10. andimc13

    I love your palette! I tend to keep my scrappy quilts organized that way too. I have a bunch of blues, so when you are ready for Tardis, send me a note on Ravelry and we can swap.

    • Hooray for a swap! Tardis quilt should be coming up over the summer break, when she’s out of school…

      -Sam

      On Wed, May 7, 2014 at 3:02 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  11. It’s going to be fabulous!

  12. Wow! Girl where do you find the time and energy? You could always get a white duvet cover for your bed and then make a smaller quilt to just decorate your bed with. That is what I did and it has been freeing for me because then I don’t always feel like I have to make a gigantic quilt every time.

  13. This is so beautiful! I’m glad you found the right project for your leftovers!

    Thanks so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    πŸ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  14. I don’t know about commitments.. But you could save up these blocks until you have more scraps and then make some more blocks later. And keep adding to them as you finish up other projects. Before too long you will have one big scrappy trip. And it won’t seem like you worked on it hardly at all!

  15. Pingback: Still Trippin’ | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

