Just Under the Wire

After dithering about all week, I DID decide to commit to May’s A Lovely Year of Finishes.

Which is actually going to be a totally new project.

But it has been on my to-do list for several months. A family friend was expecting baby #2 in June. I say was, because he decided he wanted to show up in time for Easter. All is well, he’s happy and healthy and only a little bit little. Phew. I’ve actually only met mom and dad once, but, dad is the son of MY dad’s best friend. Oh, and did I mention, my dad passed away several years ago? When this couple had baby #1, the year after he died, I made them a quilt because it’s what he would have wanted.
Take only snapshots

I used fabric with alligators because they have super special meaning to me, because of my dad.
papa and alligator sign
I miss him.

Okay, enough self pity.

I also used animal fabric because the mom works for a nature nonprofit… And I decided to go the same route this time. When I was moving all my fabric, I found some jungle theme prints I bought years and years ago, when Annie was in her jungle animal phase. That’s way behind us, but the fabric still sits in the stash. Sigh.

So tonight I picked one as a theme piece, and pulled fabric to complement it.

IMG_8512

Cute, right? I wonder if it needs a pop of bright blue?

Then I was puzzling over pattern, and realized that there’s yet another quilty-blogand trend that I never got around to- Jeni of In Color Order’s Modern Plus Quilt. These prints and colors will be so much fun in that pattern, and the piecing is simple enough to get done and out to the early little man ASAP.

So my May goal is to finish this quit, start to binding and done… Fingers crossed!

My Button

9 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Quilts, Year of Lovely Finishes

9 responses to “Just Under the Wire

  1. Good luck! Love that alligator quilt

    • Thank you 🙂 that baby quilt was one of my faves- and somehow I don’t have a photo of it finished! -Sam

      On Wed, May 7, 2014 at 10:24 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. I love your fabric pull! Those animal prints will look so fun and the plus quilt is a great idea! I really want to make one (one day…). If you think it needs a pop of blue, what about using a bright blue for the binding?

  3. Um, yes. This is fabulous. Giraffe print…..

    Also, I’m sorry to hear your dad is gone. 😦 This is very sweet, and a great way to honor his memory.

    • Even though there are monkeys and birds but no giraffes in that main print, I want to use the giraffe fabric! and it’s my quilt, so I will! lol…

      -Sam

      (Ps thanks for the sweet comment abt my dad. We’re coming up on 5 years since he passed away…)

      On Thu, May 8, 2014 at 6:46 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. The monkey fabric is fun. I love the greens with it. They direct my eyes to the monkeys. Can’t wait to see the finish, And, your blog title was what first interested me. I am a sucker for a good play on words. Happy Creating.

    • I’m glad the greens are working! And that you appreciate wordplay! Thank you for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Thu, May 8, 2014 at 8:21 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. Cara

    Aw, so cute. The fabrics are great. What a treasure.

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

