Sunday Stash, with bonus yard sale score

Over the past few weeks, I’ve piled up quite a few pieces of pretty fabric, but haven’t told you about them. This is sort of the April catch-up Sunday Stash post- and if you hang out to the end, there’s a surprise!

First, the pinks:

IMG_8387

I’m trying to add some more pinks to my City Sampler blocks- #9 is still hanging out there all alone, and that needs to change.

Next, the Tulas. Because apparently, there’s always new Tula here.

IMG_8394

Acacia, Saltwater, AND Foxfield all in one. And from 3 different sources to boot.

Then, the AMH. Because I always need new Anna Maria Horner, and Fancy Tiger just got in her new line…

IMG_8393I love the whole line, but these birds called out to me…

And then, I am SOOOO happy about these next pieces…

IMG_8390

Yup, Lizzy House’s Constellations in both light and dark blue. I thought I had totally missed my chance at the dark blue, and had looked for it online several times recently to no avail. And then I happened to visit Leigh Laurel Studios…where she mentioned that Sew Fresh Fabrics still had it in stock! Hooray! The darker blue is intended for the Tardis quilt that I am apparently going to be making with Annie. And I think the lighter will find its way into my City Sampler blocks…

And finally, the unicorns.

IMG_8397

Because unicorns. And because Annie loves ponies and horses. And because the colors are fun.

And if you’ve made it this far, you can see my one final Sunday Stash item. This item is totally NOT fabric. This item is around 60 years old.

 

IMG_8367

Yesterday was our neighborhood’s annual yard sale. We tried our luck, and sold some of our stuff. The rest is loaded into the back of my minivan, ready to get donated… When it got boring to wait for customers, the kids headed out to check out the other sales. Around the corner from our house was this little guy, sitting in a driveway with a $25 price tag- Annie texted me photos…

I totally have no need for it. I’m not sure I have the skills to use it. And $25 would be 2 yards of new fabric. But, I really wanted it. I love to look at vintage machines. They’re so nifty! And I’ve never owned a Pfaff. When it came time to pack up our sale, I went to see if I could bargain with them. They agreed to take $15.00 for it. And so I have a new, old machine. The absolute best part is that they still had the entire original manual, encased in protective plastic sleeve. The manual itself is a treasure. The machine works- light comes on, pedal and needle work, etc. We’ll see if I learn to use it, or just keep it as decor.

IMG_8447

26 Comments

Filed under Stash Enhancement, Sunday Stash

26 responses to “Sunday Stash, with bonus yard sale score

  1. Lots of wonderful stuff!

  2. So much fun new fabric! Love the pinks. And even if the pfaff is just ends up as decor…it is a pretty cool find. πŸ™‚

    • The Pfaff appears to work, so the question is, am I smart enough to figure it out? Thanks for coming by! -Sam

      On Sun, May 4, 2014 at 5:02 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. I want ALL OF IT. My Singer is turning 61 this year, and she’s a peach, so I really hope your machine works out for you too! (And if not, yes, totally sweet decor.)

    • I also have my Grandma’s singer, prob from the 40s? and a not in great shape but truly stunning much older singer- pre-electric- both of which currently serve as decor.

      I’m not smart enough to use anything but my fancy machine…

      -Sam πŸ™‚

      On Sun, May 4, 2014 at 6:20 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. Love every addition to your stash! Beautiful! Hope the machine works for you. What a find!

    • I was pretty excited by my find! And by talking them down in price πŸ™‚ I love feeling like I got a bargain… Thanks for visiting, Sam

      On Sun, May 4, 2014 at 7:17 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  5. Love the Pfaff! I think it makes a wonder piece of decor. I’ve been considering buying some vintage sewing machines when finally get around to buying a house. I’m always so curious about what might have been made on them.

    • I love vintage machines for just that reason! (Probably appeals to the history major in me…)

      FYI, there is a shop on Newbury, maybe halfway between mass ave and Boston Common, that has their entire window full of hundreds of vintage machines. the light was totally against me when we were there, so, no photos 😦 But you need to go check it out!!!

      -Sam

      On Sun, May 4, 2014 at 8:01 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. Wonderful stuff, but I especially love the Lizzy House Constellations!

    • I could not believe I found it, and still at regular retail price to boot!! (Doing a happy dance over here…) -Sam

      On Sun, May 4, 2014 at 8:41 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Gorgeous buys! I adore the AMH print, that one really stands out for me too.

    • AMH fabric always calls to me πŸ™‚ sometimes I can resist, but not this time… Thanks for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Mon, May 5, 2014 at 12:48 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  8. Awesome find and great price for a vintage machine! I love the unicorns too – where did find them?!?

    • I picked it up at an LQS that does not have an online shop, but I just googled and here are the details: Michael Miller Magic Unicorns in sorbet, CX5751-SORB-D They also appear to come in a pink/purple version…

      Hope this helps!

      -Sam

      On Mon, May 5, 2014 at 1:27 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  9. What lovely fabric you’ve acquired! That dark constellation fabric will make for a lovely tardis quilt. πŸ˜‰

    • I had long wanted some of this fabric for her Tardis quilt, but had given up hope of finding any… We’re both so happy! -Sam

      On Mon, May 5, 2014 at 2:25 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  10. Yay! You stocked up on the Constellations. I will likely freak when I run out of the darker blue. Great sewing machine find. Have fun!!!

  11. I have a budding astrologer who would love that fabric. You find the best stuff, love getting fabric inspiration from you πŸ˜€
    So glad you got the Pfaff, what a wonderful piece.

    • I wish our girls could meet! Annie is currently obsessed with stars, and wanting to be an astronomer when she grows up… An astronomer who lives in London, is also an actress, and raises horses… -Sam

      On Mon, May 5, 2014 at 6:36 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  12. Pingback: Tula Tuesday: 37 and 38 | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

