Bjorks

Whoo! My new sewing room is nearly done. Nearly but not quite. Not quite good enough for photos yet, but nearly good enough to use.

Meanwhile, I thought I’d take a moment to show you some lovely hand knit socks I finished back in March. For the 4th(!) year in a row, I’m taking part in the Cookie A Sock Club. Every other month, I get an amazing shipment of mystery yarn along with 2 exclusive sock patterns from the fabulous Cookie A. I LOVE her sock designs, and the amazing exclusive yarns she gets for the club, and have had so much fun knitting the last 3 years of club socks. The first shipment of 2014 arrived in February, and I wasn’t let down!

IMG_6099

The yarn, Plucky Feet by The Plucky Knitter in colorway Goin’ Steady is a hot hot hot pink- I love it, and it just happens to go wonderfully with my Color Craving shawl!

I chose what seemed to me the simpler of the two patterns, Bjork, mostly because the other one had a lot of stockinette, and I have found that I don’t love the way socks like that feel. The socks were fun and fast, and I actually finished them overΒ a month ago- oops! I meant to blog them… I did. I’ve worn them several times already, even on my Boston trip πŸ™‚

They look good, if I do say so myself.

IMG_6468

DSC_5582 DSC_5589 DSC_5597 DSC_5592 DSC_5601

Notes: no mods per se, but I did knit them an inch longer than the pattern called for as I prefer a longer sock. I made size L, and had no issues with running out of yarn even with the added length.

And because I simply can’t resist, I’m going to once again post the photo of me with The Yarn Harlot– with her holding my Bjork #1, which I bound off during her reading.

IMG_6367

Whee! As soon as I finish the shawl on my needles right now (which is a gift for my mom, and slightly over halfway done) I’ll be casting on the April socks.

6 Comments

Filed under CookieA, Knitting, Socks

6 responses to “Bjorks

  1. The socks look great and I cannot tell you how jealous I am that you got to hear the Yarn Harlot speak…

    • I wish you could have been here for it… But your jealousy is balanced by my Henry’s deep desire to move to the tropics πŸ˜‰

      -Sam

      On Mon, Apr 28, 2014 at 4:38 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. I want those socks!!! They look great! I really *really* wish I knit socks. πŸ™‚

    • I *thought* the color might make you happy πŸ˜‰ Do you knit at all? When I started, I was terrified of socks, but now I can almost do them in my sleep. almost.

      -Sam

      On Mon, Apr 28, 2014 at 6:53 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. Socks look beautiful! I like pattern and color. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! the pattern is exclusive to the club for 1 year, but will be available for sale in Feb 2015…

      Thanks for visiting! -Sam

      On Mon, Apr 28, 2014 at 8:34 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

