Tula Tuesday: Blocks 21 through 24

First off, let me apologize for missing last week’s Tula Tuesday. I had blocks 21 and 22 done, and I even got them photographed right before we left for the airport, BUT… we were so crazy busy on our vacation that the few bits of downtime we had, I was too tired to type a post!

So this week I’m home, and I’m all kinds of exhausted, but at least it’s a happy exhausted. Oh, Boston, I love you so much. I miss you so much. We moved away 14 years ago, but every time I go back, I feel at home within 15 minutes. We had a wonderful week, saw family and friends, and hit so many museums and historical sights. I’ve got loads of photos to show you… but that’s for later. Today is for Tula!

tula tuesday

IMG_6508 IMG_6513

Blocks 21 and 22 (top) were all about the purple.

IMG_6525 IMG_6548

Block 21 may be the simplest one in the entire book. I’ll get back to you on that after 76 more blocks 😉

IMG_6529 IMG_6546Block 22 is all Tula fabric- and I finally got a chance to use some of my squirrels from the Birds and the Bees. I love love love those squirrels!

IMG_6535 IMG_6544

Block 23 allowed me to bust out my brand new Tula Fox Field print. This may be my favorite fabric of all time, and I only have a yard of it. Ack! The colors were made for me, and the animals are awesome. (I meant to show you this stuff in a Sunday Stash, but that aforementioned vacation got in the way.)

IMG_6539 IMG_6542

Block 24 wasn’t as successful as I planned- it looked way cooler in my head. I still like it, it just isn’t what I imagined… I have the stripy Tula print used in the block- I used it in 22- and also 15- and so I did’t want to use it again. But man, does it look cool in the original…

So here’s my progress to date:

blocks 1 thru 24

By next week, I’ll need to start a new collage!

What about you? Any new Tula blocks in your world? If so, link up below!

14 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL

14 responses to “Tula Tuesday: Blocks 21 through 24

  1. What a rich color palette! And those fussy cuts are fantastic!!!

  2. I linked up with my first Tula block but I don’t see my linky there.

  3. WOW!! I love all of your Tula blocks… those colors look fantastic. Plus, I love how you fussy cut the squirrels. Nice! I am stopped on block 52, and hopefully will get back to it someday soon…. LOL

    • I’m really enjoying these blocks with bigger pieces that are perfect for fussy cutting! A great excuse to bust out all my fave Tula critters…

      52 is more than halfway there!Looking forward to seeing your blocks 🙂

      -Sam

  4. No Tula blocks to link up…but I love yours Sam…never was a purple girl until Tula came into my life LOL

  5. I saw Tula on The Quilt Show – her fabric is stunning! Great progress on your blocks, will be a total heirloom when done!

  6. Your blocks are gorgeous! I love the fabrics you are using! I am glad you had a wonderful time in Boston (my favorite city too!).

    • Oh, Boston… sigh. Every time we go back to visit, I come home so very very homesick. What a wonderful city!

      Thanks for the block compliment- I’m having so much fun making these! And thanks for linking up!

      -Sam

  7. Oh, my! I have to say… Those little critters are my fave blocks this week! Especially the little squirrels! Nice blocks, Sam!

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

