WIP Wednesday: Here, Kitty Kitty

During last week’s brief but truly awful walking foot debacle, I was forced to put aside the (nearly completed) skull quilt. Desperate to sew, I started my next piecing project. Later this year, someone dear to me is getting married. She and her partner share many things, one of which is a love of cats. I had been planning on making them something for their wedding, and then Elizabeth Hartman’s Catvent happened… Aside from needing background fabric, I could make the entire thing from scraps, and have so much fun with it! So I put it on my to-do list, and continued on with the skull. Until I couldn’t…

And then… I started the kitties! First off, I was responsible and cut all the background pieces. That means I can move forward with the 25 kitties with minimal cutting. The digging in the terribly organized scrap bins will now be the most time consuming part of this project.

I’m following the same color scheme as the original- the rainbow appeals to me aesthetically as well as thematically. I started in the bottom right corner, and so, Kitties #1 and #2 are blue.

20140305-082551.jpg

They’re super easy to piece. I am really looking forward to making more. I’m most worried about yellow and orange kitties, as my stash in these colors is the most limited. But I only need itty bitty pieces… I’m going to commit to completing all 25 kitties in March for the Year of Lovely Finishes.

Meanwhile, my fabulous and wonderful husband found a replacement screw for my walking foot, and we were able to reattach it to the machine with no problems. Hooray! That means the kitties take a catnap (see what I did there?) while I finish the skull quilt. The baby it is intended for arrived on Saturday, and mom and dad took her home from the hospital in an outfit covered in skulls and crossbones. I think it will be well received!

(Linking up with WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced  and also to the March Year of Lovely Finishes Goal Party)

15 Comments

Filed under Gift, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

15 responses to “WIP Wednesday: Here, Kitty Kitty

  1. These are cute! and I’m gushing over all the beautiful purple quilting projects in your banner – purple is my favourite colour and I’m just dying to use it in a quilt soon

    • Purple is my fave too- as you can probably tell! Can’t wait to get to the purple kitties in this project… Thanks for coming to visit!

      -Samantha

      On Wed, Mar 5, 2014 at 11:34 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  2. Yeah! Glad to hear your hubby has pitched in to get that walking foot working. Sew looking forward to your skull quilt finish!!! And those cats! Who could resist! They sure look like a lot of fun!

    • He found the entire box of extra feet I never use, and lo and behold, there were some screws in it as well… I was so upset that never occurred to me! I just panicked! thank goodness for cooler heads!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 5, 2014 at 1:09 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. The kitties are going to be cute. I have seen quilts with that block and really like them. Enjoy your blog.

    • Im having so much fun with the kitties- I made 2 more tonight, and started sorting through scraps to make more. Im glad youve been enjoying my blog- thank you for the compliment 🙂

      -Samantha

  4. Can’t wait to see the skull finish. Those kitty blocks are so much fun. 🙂

  5. I love the kitty blocks you’ve done so far ~ I did this one, too, and I thought it was tons of fun! Can’t wait to see yours!

    • i made some more last night, and raided my scraps to plan the rest. it really is fun- I’d love to see yours~

      thank you for visiting!

      -Sam

      On Wed, Mar 5, 2014 at 10:34 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. Ooooh it’s going to be awesome!

  7. You have a way with colors! I don’t normally like kitty’s but I am looking forward to seeing this quilt come together simply because of your color choices. Way to go.

    • Thank you for the color compliment- playing with color is my favorite part of the process… So it’s especially gratifying to hear that someone else thinks I’m doing it well 🙂 I’m nearly done with the blue kitties and about to move on to greens…

      -Sam

      On Fri, Mar 7, 2014 at 6:04 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  8. Pingback: Meow Mix, Top Done! | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

