WIP Wednesday: The Skull is Done

I might just have made the largest baby quilt ever.

DSC_5503

Cause that’s my 5’9″ husband holding the quilt up over his head… (Thanks, honey.)

When I started the quilt, I intellectually knew it would be big. 60″x72″. But those were just numbers in my head. I didn’t think, hmm, isn’t that 5 feet by 6 feet? I did think about cutting all my pieces 1/2 the recommended size, but that seemed too fiddly. 1.25″ strips didn’t sound fun to work with. And then I thought about only making the center, skull portion of the quilt, but that was too boring.

IMG_0054

See what I mean? Mixing up the greens in the center blocks would have detracted from the skull, and the 2 solid greens by themselves bore me… Plus the skull seems off balance somehow.

So, the biggest baby quilt in the world it is!

They can cover their whole floor with the quilt, and lay the baby down, and not have to worry about vacuuming πŸ˜‰

I did cave in and order some new fabric for the back- I found some perfect stuff on http://www.fabric.com for $7/yard on sale, so, yeah, I bought it. It’s due to be delivered today, so maybe I can piece the back- I’m planning on mixing in some of the leftover solid greens- and baste it over the weekend.

Have you ever given a quilt this big to a baby? Do you have a go-to pattern for baby quilts, or do you mix it up?

Linking up with WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

28 Comments

Filed under Baby quilts, Gift, Quilts, WIP Wednesday

28 responses to “WIP Wednesday: The Skull is Done

  1. ellen

    With a quilt this size, and with the fun pattern, it will last well past the baby years. It could be a bed quilt when the baby is older.

  2. Amazing!! Congratulations.

  3. I mix up my baby quilt patterns, depending on the family to get the quilt. I have given a baby quilt that big too and it is good to hear that I am not the only one who reads the dimensions and still has no idea how big or small it is actually going to be. I love the pops of color.

    • Thanks- the pops of color are my fave part. I’m going to try and work them into the back as well. Glad to hear you’ve also made a biggggg baby quilt! -Samantha

      On Wed, Feb 12, 2014 at 7:35 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  4. I am in love with this. Congrats!

  5. Had the quilt had a really babyish look, it would be too big. Since skull designs last a while longer, I think the size is fine. I have no go-to design for baby quilts–whatever I am in the mood for at the moment, whatever the new parents like (color and theme)–that sort of thought. I also use them to practice new skills and patterns because babies don’t care about perfection.

  6. I love it. It looks great and will serve for many years. I was really sad when I outgrew my baby quilt, so I think a full size one is a great idea.

  7. That is an amazing quilt! I just love that you have made a baby quilt with a skull on it and imagine it’s going to keep the baby happy for many years!

    • This kid’s parents are pretty funky folks, and I’ve always wanted to make this pattern, so hopefully it will be a win/win. Thanks for coming by! -Sam

      On Wed, Feb 12, 2014 at 3:26 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  8. I am sorry, but your opening lines…. Just had me laughing out loud! That is one big baby! It is a gorgeous top. I love the greens. And it is really cool. Looking forward to seeing your backing later on!

  9. If it is too big for a baby my husband has kindly offered to take it off your hands. It is fabulous.

    • He’ll have to fight my husband πŸ˜‰ I do think i may have to remake it one for him, as he’s cast an awful lot of longing looks at this project… Glad to hear that it appeals to husbands across the blogosphere.

      -Samantha

      On Wed, Feb 12, 2014 at 6:45 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  10. Your quilt is very dramatic and eye catching! When I saw the picture I assumed it was for a teen. Fun πŸ™‚

    • I’m going to go with the theory that others have proposed that due to its monstrous size, it will last well beyond the baby years… so maybe it is for a teen πŸ˜‰ Thank you for coming by! -Samantha

      On Wed, Feb 12, 2014 at 10:22 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  11. Cher

    this is a huge hit and I am sure the baby will and parents will so enjoy this fabulous quilt ! looking forward to the wonderful back to come…fabulous job Sam

  12. Aileen

    I absolutely love it! The extra border is really needed and looks great. Glad you decided to stay with the larger size.

  13. Pingback: Sunday Stash: Skulls and more | Diary of a Madfabriholic

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

