Tula Tuesday: Blocks 3, 4, 5, and 6

It’s time for the second installment of Tula Tuesday. This week, I worked my way through blocks 3, 4, 5 and 6 (pictured in numerical order.) 5 and 6 were super duper fast- in fact, I pieced 6 while Annie was pinning her pillowcase!

IMG_6010

I actually took #3 apart once. I had a green fabric in the corner squares, and I hated it. So I replaced the green with the blue Pearl Bracelets, and it was all better.

IMG_6001 IMG_6003

Number 4 features two of my favorite fabrics from Parisville.

IMG_5995 IMG_5998

Number five is back to purples, and includes more of that Parisville. (I love how I don’t notice the threads all over my blocks until AFTER I take the photos!)

IMG_5990 IMG_5993

And number six has even more Parisville- along with the green Tula that I kicked out of #3…

IMG_5986 IMG_5987

Here’s everything so far…

mosaiceac633df8ee2c1de4c9016d108eecfcfa875e19b

This upcoming week, I may not get more than #7, or maybe #7 and #8, done. There are 20 1×1 squares in block #7! That will require some attention paying and precision piecing- which are both totally my strengths. NOT.

Meanwhile, I’ve got a question for you guys. Since I posted last week’s blocks, I’ve heard from several folks who are part way through or just starting their own City Samplers. Since the official QAL is over, and the prizes have been awarded (and, if you haven’t checked out the results, what are you waiting for?), I wondered if anyone would be interested in linking up their progress throughout the year? I was thinking every Tuesday, or maybe just one Tuesday per month? It would be so much fun to see what everyone is up to, and to encourage one another along the way. You could be doing all 100, or just your faves… anything goes! Anyone up for it?

21 Comments

Filed under Quilts, Tula Pink QAL

21 responses to “Tula Tuesday: Blocks 3, 4, 5, and 6

  1. Your blocks look great! And that is totally my favorite print from Dowry. I don’t know how often I’ll be putting together my City Sampler blocks, but I would like to finish the rest of the series before the end of the year. I’d be game for linking up!

  2. I love your fabric choices! It is going to be a very pretty quilt when it is all put together.

  3. I would love to participate and share my weekly progress. So far I’ve build 30 blocks (randomly!). Your blocks an fabrics looks great!

  4. I was thinking of leaving this project for the summer. I’d be happy to annoy you with my progress reports once you’ve finished all your blocks.

  5. TorinaInStitches

    I am doing a challenge that I actually just signed up for today through my LQS so I’m game.

    • Wonderful! Right now I’m thinking we’d officially start the first Tuesday in March- gives time to spread the word. I’m so looking forward to seeing everyone’s blocks and fabric choices!

      -Sam

      On Tue, Feb 11, 2014 at 9:44 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  6. They are great looking blocks! I adore the colours and the fabric.

    • Thank you, Ruth… it’s my standard color palette. I’m very predictable. I figure a project that is going to take 10 months should be in colors i love, or else I’ll hate it…

      -Sam

      On Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 2:45 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  7. Those blocks are looking fine! I love your fabric choices! That is a great idea to do a link up for others to join in, Sam. Looking forward to seeing everyone’s progress!

    • Thank you, Lorna- I’m thinking of starting the link up the First Tues in March- gives folks time to help me spread the word. I love poring through people’s flickr streams to see their blocks, and I think others do too… -Sam

      On Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 4:27 AM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  8. I must start going through my stash and doing blocks whenever I have a chance, yours are wonderful and I can see a finished quilt coming along before you know it.

    • I’m doing this as a QAL with some local friends, and my goal is 10 blocks x month for 10 months, so done in november. I’ll be working on other projects at the same time… Looking forward to seeing yours! thanks for visiting! -Samantha

      On Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 10:42 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

