Sunday Stash: Sewing with my Brony

Now that I’m back to sewing regularly, it seems I’m back to fabric shopping regularly. Going to have to keep an eye on that… It could get both dangerous and expensive…

Meanwhile, since I am doing both more, I thought I’d join up with Sunday Stash for the first time. I’m a little hesitant, as I don’t have quilt shop quality fabric to show you today. BUT, it is fabric that made my kiddo exceptionally happy, so that has to count for something, right?

My Annie (age 12) is obsessed with My Little Pony, in a semi-ironic way. She liked them as a wee one, and rediscovered them last year. She chooses to call herself a Brony, even though she’s not a boy…

IMG_5674

Before Xmas, I searched and searched for some My Little Pony fabric, so I could make her something, since her brother was getting this. But I had no luck 😦

And then, we were at JoAnns to replenish her Duck Tape supply, and JoAnns was having one of their massive sales, plus I had a coupon for 20% off my entire purchase. And lo and behold, there it was… My Little Pony licensed fabric. Annie’s head nearly exploded. We got 3 yards, at the very good sale price of 40% off…

IMG_5957

On the off chance you don’t know your Ponies, the blue one is Rainbow Dash, the pink one is Pinkie Pie, and the purple one is Princess Twilight Sparkle. Annie’s faves, Muffins, Dr. Whooves, and DJPon3, don’t tend to make it onto the mass market stuff.

The solids are random from my stash. Annie wanted a pony pillowcase, and also one for her BFF. Instead of me making them for her, I helped her make them herself. We passed Sunday morning in the sewing room… I did the rotary cutting but she did everything else by herself.

IMG_5963 IMG_5967 IMG_5974 IMG_5980

I’m super proud of her work. And her generosity. She’s keeping the one with blue, and her BFF gets the one with purple. The pillowcase looks right at home on her bed already.

IMG_6006

(Oh, did I mention we also bought a bunch of MLP fleece because it was also 40% off?)

Hope you had a fun shopping week. Do you craft with your kiddos?

10 Comments

Filed under Annie, Sewing (not quilting!), Stash Enhancement, Sunday Stash

10 responses to “Sunday Stash: Sewing with my Brony

  1. Wow, she did a great job! I’m sure her friend will be thrilled 🙂

  2. She did a great job wih the pillowcases! It’s fun fabric, I’d have been all over that when I was a kid (in the 80s) – I had a My Little Pony alphabet quilt — I should find out if my mom still has that somewhere at her house.

    • I was a kid in the 80s myself, and I had some ponies. No idea where they ended up. I was all about the Cabbage Patch Kids, myself… I’d love to see the MLP alphabet quilt if you find it! Thanks for coming by! -Samantha

      On Sun, Feb 9, 2014 at 4:39 PM, Diary of a Madfabriholic wrote:

      >

  3. i JUST watched that on netflix the other day! i was going to suggest making on of those pixelated quilts but looks like you found what you were looking for 🙂

  4. Pingback: Tula Tuesday: Blocks 3, 4, 5, and 6 | Diary of a Madfabriholic

  5. Annie is *so* adorable. I’m glad you found some fabric for her. The pillowcases look great!

    • Shes adorable enough that Ill keep her 😉 Seriously, though, were darn near the teen years, and the attitude, oh my god. Its killing me.

      Next, were going to try mini drawstring bags with the leftover fabric.

      -Sam

I love to find new friends through this blog, and I try to reply to all comments as soon as possible... I hope you'll consider leaving one!

